click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:06 p.m. - 2008-12-30
sickies
What a couple of days we've had.

I feel more pregnant this week.

I have a full blown cold from hell - I just had a cold 3 weeks ago. I guess I should be grateful it's a new years cold instead of a Christmas cold. I'm already out of luck with most new year's day activities so having the sniffles during our tame dinner out with another couple should be no big deal. We may even be home by midnight, depending on how I feel. I feel like crap right now - like someone inserted a needle in my cranial cavity(s) and has been slowly forcing small amounts of air in. My eyeballs may pop out.

I am only able to take Sudafed, which, like it's pain relieving counterpart, Tylenol, for the most part, does not work. I laid on the couch for most of the day trying to will myself to get well enough to go to a girls' night out with 9 of Haley's closest friends. It didn't work but I went anyway. The one nice thing about pregnancy so far is that you have this wonderful excuse to depart early from situations that have run their course in terms of your own enjoyment. I got there at 7, as did 3 other girls. We sat there and chatted until 8 when the rest of the crew showed up - an HOUR late. We ordered - I had veggie and chicken soup and california rolls - and I ate, and then, just when the second round of sake bombs came around to the non pregnant party members (they were kind enough to bring me a Shirley Temple which was just way too sweet to even think about drinking), I slipped Fara some money and off I went. Now I'm home wearing a velour track suit and using a LOT of Kleenex.

OK, I'm done whining about my cold. But. I have a nice handy tip for when your nose gets raw from blowing it so much. I mix a very mild lotion and hot water in a spray bottle - like maybe a cup of water and 1/4 cup of lotion - shake it up and then lay out a bunch of keenex and spray each one until slightly damp. Let them dry a bit - you can use them damp if you need to- and then use them and it is like heaven on your nose after trying to wipe with a dry Kleenex. I know they make those ones with lotion in them already but this is great if you don't have those handy, which I never do if I need them, or if you want an even lotiony-er experience.

Tomorrow I have the option to accompany my mother and father as they take small children to the science center or try to conserve energy for our dinner out with another couch-anchored day. I was sooooo bored today I watched a documentary on atom bombs and communism and that was afer watching another uninteresting movie - Broken Flowers - I had such high hopes but I thought it was lame and slow and had a bad ending.

Boredom vs exhaustion. It really is a tough call.

This stinks because this is one of the few Christmas breaks where I have actually sucessfully managed to put something fun on my calendar for every day - and now i have to cancel stuff because I'm sick. When I'm better, of course everyone will be busy. :(

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!