click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:18 p.m. - 2008-06-30
yoga bows
Today I was in the grocery line behind a lady who did the following:

Paid with an Access card for part of her purchase (this is the new version of food stamps if you didn't know.)

Paid with cash for part of her purchase.

Paid with a check that there was some sort of problem with - the cashier had to get a manager, etc.

Talked on her cell phone the ENTIRE time. Loud. About nothing that seemed important - there was a lot of laughing.

So, while in line, I decided, after staring at this other woman who was directly in front of me for this entire debacle, that there is no reason to wear a shirt that has one of those high waists and a ribbon thing that ties in the back. It just looks bad and makes people look kind of pregnant. Maybe the woman in front of me was pregnant but not pregnant enough for me to be like aw, you're pregnant. And that tie thing gives the impression that it has a function. Like - I have to TIE this shirt on. It could just FLY off me at any moment. Or...this shirt is just too LOOSE without this tie. It is just way too BIG. And the RIBBON makes it just the right size. I could have bought one that fit, but no - this ribbon is awesome and does just the trick. Maybe they like ribbon. Except. That people have to tie them behind their back so instead of a nice, even on both sides bow, you get the equivlent of what shoelaces on 7 years old's sneakers look like, all wonky and sad.

Onto other topics.

That new dressing - Wishbone Bountifuls - there are several varieties. They look so good. Until you look on the back of the bottle and read the ingredients. First of all it's fat free. Fat free dressing is always bad and too sweet and always full of corn syrup. The dressing is basically a bunch of delicious chunky veggies, or fruit in the case of the berry one, in a bottle of corn syrup.

I went to my first ever Yoga class today. It was outside, under a large tent. I went with Amy who regularly does yoga. It was very difficult. I got through it and did most of the poses the right way although after the 12th down dog, I was shaking. I do not have strong wrists and I am not a small person so holding more than half my body weight up with my wrists while in a position that makes my hamstrings kind of scream, kind of sucks. At the end I flt accomplished and rather peaceful but really nervous Amy was going to say "Oh, that was a really easy class." But to my delight (!!) she said it was actually one of the more challenging ones she'd been to. This is good. I would have been discouraged and not likely to go again if that was like the baby version. But it was the real deal! And I did it!

Possibly the best/worst part was this scruffy, very wiry, homeless-looking guy who was in the class - every time I would glance in his direction, he was doing some advanced contortionist move while balanced on three fingers and one toe and his crotch in the air. Amy and I snickered a lot.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!