click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:42 p.m. - 2008-07-03
gripe
The scene: Any coffee shop that categorizes its beverages as follows: tall, grande, venti. You are in line behind someone - seemingly anyone. And they order a Venti something or other. And the pronounce it "Ven-tay."

Why do people do this???

It's "VENTEE!" It's an "i" and I don't know of any language where they prinounce and "i" as "ay". So there is no excuse. Is it because the "grande" and "latte" throw them off? It's not like they all have the same letter at the end. What is the problem here???

The thing that drives me the most crazy is when I pronounce it correctly, and the BARISTA says it wrong - and I'm sure they think I am the one saying it wrong. It goes like this:

Me: I'll have a Venti 2% latte.

Them: ok, one Ventay 2% latte?

Me: (small, resigned sigh) Yes.

Them: that will be $3.40 (or whatever ridiculous price those are going for now.)

Them, to their co-worker making the drinks "One Ventay 2%."

I figure they are being TRAINED to say it wrong. Which makes me slightly insecure that I might be wrong. But I can't be - can I? Not like I'm never wrong or something - ha! Just ask my husband. He is the one who is actually never wrong - it's weird - he pretty much always has correct information.

Believe me, if I am saying this wrong, I will be quick to change it up. But I am 99.999999% sure I'm right.


We're off to the cabin for 2 days. Happy 4th!!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!