click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:42 a.m. - 2008-05-05
I've had the time of my life...
Well - it's officially over. 30th birthday weekend. I had a really great time. My party was glorious. The karaoke was really fun. Lots of people came. I was suprised by the unexpected arrival of Beverly Hale. I started yelling when I saw her because I was shocked and really happy.

There were many great moments - when Luke and I sung "I've Had the Time of My Life" to Haley - that might have been my favorite. I found myself thinking throughout the night - I can't understand why everyone doesn't have karaoke birthdays. It is the perfect combination of hanging out while having an activity. When you throw a group of people together - many of whom only know the birthday girl or their date, you run the risk of some people just kind if fading into the back corner because they don't have anyone to talk to. But the karaoke aspect, the performances ranging from awesome to horrible to hilarious, is what ties it all together. Even if you're not a social butterfly, you have something to watch that hits on various levels of entertainment.

And - in my birthday planning wisdom, I always choose a place that will also have the hockey game or whatever sport if going on, tuned in on a nearby television for those party poopers who get dragged there kicking and screaming by their girlfriends.

So, mark your calendars for next year - God willing, we'll be doing it again. If I happen to be pregnant - hmm, we will have to think through that one. But what, I ask you, could be better than a pregnant woman rapping the lyrics to Shoop by Salt N' Pepa??

Thanks to all who came - you made my birthday fabulous.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!