click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:58 p.m. - 2007-05-21
mae-moo
It is appropriate that today is her birthday. She is a pipsqueak with a perfect voice and a guitar. Everyone who knows her loves her. She is one of the funniest people I have ever met. Ladies and Gentlemen, Mae-moo.


1. Why are you living in Cincinnatti and how long do you see yourself there?

After I graduated, I didn't have a job, a place to live or any definite plans (other than spending the summer in Columbus with Lyndsey before her wedding). My fabulous sister lived here and needed help the final few months before her wedding so Cincinnati won out over....nowhere else. (Now you know why they call me Prenup.) As far as staying here, I don't have any definite plans to leave, but I wouldn't necessarily say I'm here for the long haul. That's the beauty of being a single, childless renter. I can go wherever I want. Nepal, I've got your number.

2. What dinner item do you make when you have company?

I'm not gonna lie - I can grill like a boy. Usually I'll mix up a batch of my famous turkey burgers and grill some veggies. Or lasagna. I make kickass lasagna.

3. Name the top five events in your life in the last three years.

I'm not sure I can really rank these, but these are five great events that have happened...Meeting Gillian Welch and Patty Griffin, Being in my sister's wedding, Getting ready to go to South Africa (so actually going should top the list), Recording with Bruce Dalzell, and I'm reserving one mondo space for any time I get to hang with the people I really, really, really love.

4. If you won the lottery what would you do?

I think I'd buy a big old house somewhere and make it the ultimate destination for me and my pals. Think...the ultimate treehouse. Except not in a tree. And with fewer beanbags. But maybe still a rad pulley system. That'd eat up a few mil.

And then I'd totally change the world.



5. What is the inspiration behind the last three songs you wrote?

Look What Happens was written to someone I'm pretty sure I've never met, but would love to. Won't Sing About Love was borne out of the frustration of writing Look What Happens. And Joanie was written for my friend Jocardo about how I can never remember the difference between Joan Collins and Joan Crawford.

6. what is the funniest thing that has happened to you lately?

I almost fainted when I bought my car and the finance lady had to bring me a juice box and some crackers. Just like every other seven-year-old who buys a car.

7. What is the next purchase over 100 dollars you are likely to make?

Car insurance.

8. Favorite album currently? (You know I can't pick just one...)

Patty Griffin - Children Running Through

The Weepies - Say I Am You

Elvis Perkins - Ash Wednesday

Regina Spektor - Begin to Hope



9. What is the most significant contribution you are making to the world?

This July I'm going to Mamelodi (the poorest township in South Africa) to help build houses, plant gardens and love kids.

10. What is the most significant effect the world is making on you?

I'm not sure if this is what you mean, but I'm stronger now than I've ever been. It's tough being the sole provider for yourself and sometimes it gets a little lonely, but it forces me to draw strength only from the places I know I can truly find it. Makes for a solid Mae.

11. What is your pet peeve?
People who interrupt, are late and don't follow through. But the biggest is when I realize that I do all of these things.


12. How is that garden coming?
AMAZING! I've almost got a real home-grown strawberry, the lettuce is really tasty and the tomatoes, peppers are in the ground. I think I may have overdone it, so if I see you in July or August, be prepared to leave with a zucchini or five.


13. What is one thing you have learned since college?

College wasn't the real world.

14. Describe the perfect road trip...to where, with who, for how long, in what sort of vehicle?

Hmmm...I've always thought it would be cool to drive up the Pacific Coast Highway in an old convertible. Or I'd love to go drive up to northern Canada with all the people who make me laugh to see the Northern Lights. Who's in for Canadian camping?

15. Tell us a secret.

I'm a bit of an MTV junkie. (I need to know my audience before I go talking about my secret warts and shoplifting exploits.)

16. If you had to have a bumper sticker on your car what would it say?

Follow me to Findlay Market. (An awesome open-air market in Cincinnati.)

17. Your three best qualities?

I would venture that I'm pretty good-natured, mildly funny and I bathe regularly.

18. Worst?

I get cranky when I'm tired, sometimes I take more than one cheese sample at the grocery store and I usually get bored about 3/4 of the way through a movie.

19. Tell us about a book we should all read.

If you're into fiction, East of Eden by John Steinbeck is my favorite book ever. It's long, but I liked it so much that I stopped reading it halfway through once because I didn't want to not have it to read (why don't we just add that to my worst qualities right now?). If you like memoirs, The Glass Castle by Jeanette Wahls(sp?). I don't usually curse at a book, but this one will really get you. If you like fake memoirs, Middlesex is amazing. And if you're a nerd like me and like historical non-fiction, the River of Doubt by I don't remember is a super well-written story about Theodore Roosevelt's trip down an uncharted river in South America. I know that sounds like a giant yawn, but it's one of the best books I've read in a while.

20. If you could have a foot rub from anyone in the world who would that lucky person be?

Lyndsey Teter gives the best foot rub north of the Mason Dixon. But I'd give that cute realtor a try if he asked nicely.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!