click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:38 a.m. - 2007-05-22
amy, what you wanna do?
I have mentioned this many times because i am so excited about it - Amy and Scott are moving to Pittsburgh. They will be here when we return from Hawaii. That is lovely because coming back from a trip is usually kind of sad, but now i am going to have something fabulous to look forward to. I really think a little more Baumgardener is what this town needs. Here is Amy...


1. How are you feeling about moving to Pittsburgh?

emotional. nervous, anxious, excited, hopeful...

2. What dinner item do you cook most frequently?

Well, I don't cook. If Scott is not home, that means I will eat salad and maybe pasta. I really hate to cook and am very glad that I have a husband that enjoys it.

3. Name the top five events in your life in the last three years.

I moved across the country, got married, left my church, re-evaluated my faith, and traveled around Italy.

4. If you won the lottery what would you do?

adopt, travel, get that bathroom I dream of, save some of it, travel, give some of it away, open a business, and travel!

5. You are forced to own three pets that cannot be kept solely in cages, What are they?

I don't really like animals, so this is tough one.I guess a dog and some cats. Just typing that, all i can think of is when Ed Bock's cat threw up on our chair. Yuck!

6. what is the funniest thing Scott has done lately?

From this past weekend there are a few: At a friday night dinner with friends he did a song AND dance from Aladdin to try and prove that if we went to visit our friend in Lebanon, he would fit in just fine.And then there was last night at my staff party when he decided to wear a plaid blanket (from the back of the hosts couch) around to help "prepare" him for the corn toss. I don't know, it was ridiculous followed by plenty of inappropriate and funny things said to my boss and colleagues.

7. What is the next purchase over 100 dollars you are likely to make?

oh Lord, there are so many. I just bought a new MacBook...but now it will be mostly moving expenses I suppose.

8. Favorite album currently?

I am such a music loser, I still listen to what I listened to in college. Scott did just buy me a CD as a joke b/c it said on the front the theme song (Calling All Friends) from "What about Brian." He hates that i watch that show and hates that I sing the song even more. So he bought me the CD (Low Star), it is actually kind of good...a bit of blue grass.

9. Most embarrassing thing that has happened to you in the last year?

At a VERY fancy hotel, Scott was being Scott. We went into an elevator (Scott in his pajamas and me in my workout clothes) and he "attacked" me with a banana. It looked as though we were "up to something else" as we are yelling, grabbing and carrying on when the doors opened and 8 fancy people (tuxes, gowns etc.) get on. I am mortified and move to the back of the elevator. One guy says, "oooh, she's embarrassed." Then another guy steps on scott's foot accidentally and says, "I am playing footsie with you." Scott responds, "I am irresistible to every man, woman, child...wait, maybe not child." The guy responds, "I hope not, I may have to arrest you." Thankfully, the elevator door opens and we run out.

10. What cleaning chore do you most loathe?

Confession: I just cleaned my house for the first time a few weeks ago. Up until then i had someone do it for me...spoiled, I know. But, still it would have to be cleaning the shower--I HATE that job.

11. What is your pet peeve?

Incompetent people.

12. Got any funny stories from when we lived together?

There was the cat puke that I spoke of earlier, then our first night in the house when we had to evacuate and call the hot fireman and Will to "save" us. There was the night where we pulled all the nasty hair from your brush and taped it to my armpits for a photo opportunity. Let's see...I know there are more...there had to be with all that drinking. :)

13. What is one thing you wish you could teach all of your students?

My hope is that I taught them to care, to realize how blessed they are and to break stereotypes of the poor. I also worked really hard to teach them to think critically when listening to the news, their parents political views, or reading a text book.

14. Describe the perfect road trip...to where, with who, for how long, in what sort of vehicle?

Scott and I dream about owning an RV. I would say probably just Scott and I because even though I really want to travel with other people, it never seems to go very well. I would like to go across the country to all the places we have yet to see and revisit those that we have fallen in love with. It would be cool if we could coordinate it so we could see concerts and/or film festivals at the same time.

15. Tell us a secret.

I love books, but I have realized that I would much rather buy books, look at books, and borrow books from the library than actually read them.

16. If you had to have a bumper sticker on your car what would it say?

Here is one that I have actually seen and love:"These colors don't run...the world."

17. Your three best qualities?

compassionate, reliable, organized

18. Worst?

worrier, moody, a bit too high standards for friends and people in general

19. Tell us about a book we should all read.

Traveling Mercies by Anne Lamott (or any or her other books)She has been my saving grace to not feeling so alone being a liberal Christian who messes up A LOT.

20. If/when you start to go gray, will you cover it up or just go with it?

Um, I am actually not even able to count all the grays now, there are too many. They are not all in one place so it isn't as noticable, but when it gets worse, you can bet I will cover it up. I am just trying to keep costs down while I can.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!