click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:17 a.m. - 2006-02-24
interview with a stranger
The man, the myth, the legend. Ladies and gentleman...Mr. Ben Scragg...

I just have to say one more thing before we get on with the interview. See, I heard about Ben Scragg, aka younger brother to half of the cool women I know, for YEARS before ever actually laying eyes on him. He was described as funny, interesting, smart, etc. Every time I heard a story about him, I thought to myself...we would TOTALLY be friends if we ever, like, met. I would call him up with the need to discuss the perils of my love life. I mentally paired him up with girls I knew, ok, you know who you are....I VERBALLY paired you up, unbeknownst to Mr. Scragg. He just seemed like Athens' Most Eligible Bachelor in the Navigator/Crusade/Donkey scene and that SHOULD NOT go to waste.

I finally met him in Goodfellas. I was with Patrick and he said something like "Oh, there's my brother-in-law" which is one of those phrases that seems weird for people our age to say. And I said "Introduce me. NOW." So he did. And that was that. Sort of anticlimactic. Not because Ben Scragg is any less great than I expected him to be. But I think I had some expectations that upon discovering my identity, would leap up from his pizza and say something like "J-do, my life is complete now that I've finally met you." Like balance had finally been restored in the universe. Nope. It was more like "Hey, nice to meet you. Ok, see you around." He was with some girl, so maybe that wouldn't have made her feel very nice. So, I'll just go on believing that is why my expectations of our first encounter were not realized. He was just being polite.

Now, on the interview:
1. What is the best thing that has happened so far in 2006? (intentionally left blank, originally, but then answered with: The answer to #1 is the past weekend's trip to Austin, TX. It was amazing.)

2. What makes you really happy in general?

Traveling and shopping in bookstores. Buying things in general seems to make me happy, or at least excited like I just pulled off some big heist. Of course, the fact that I usually have lost an ass-ton of cash tempers that euphoria. As do the homeless I walk past with my bags.

3. Share a pet peeve.

Drivers who turn but don�t signal is my top pet peeve. And gossip is pretty annoying. Or just people talking about people irks me. (Yeah, I work with teenagers. Is that okay?)

4. Tell us the last time you cried. Man, I hope it wasn't my fault.

Um, it wasn�t that long ago was it? Over something. It had been awhile. Oh! Early January, one day after school. I was pretty miserable. I didn�t have a gun handy. And someone was calling me. It�s always when I�m on the phone that I have to choke the tears back.

5. Since you don't really know me, tell the people what you know about me.

I know you�re good people. We�ve met. You�re friends/family with my friends/family. Pittsburgh, Seattle, Chicago, Athens. It�s all relative, anyway.

6. Is there anything you are wishing/praying very hard for right now?

Clarity with future life direction. Cryptic enough?

7. What is one cause in the world you wish more people knew/cared about?

Hunger.

8. Tel us three non-family members you'd put on your Emergency Contact list and why.

- BW. Probably counts as family, but she�d fit the all-purpose category.
- Scott McClellan. That bastard could help me cover up anything.
- Greg Booth. Whatever.

9. Tell us about your most recent injury.

I had shin splints or something from wearing uncomfortable shoes and standing in an unhealthy posture at school. It lasted a day or two last week. I�m better now.

10. If you like children, at what age do you think they are the most fun/interesting?

I do, and I�ve never thought too much about it. They�re probably fun at all ages, just different kinds of fun. I don�t now. 5. 12. 16. 24. Sure.

11. Any allergies we should know about?

Penicillin.

12. As a teacher, give advice to those dealing with children regularly but who are not teachers, like me for example.

Know yourself first. What pisses you off? What do you enjoy? What do you expect from children? What should they expect from you? And build relationships that grow something. And be patient. And be funny.

13. Where do you see yourself in 7.5 years?

Impossible to say. Chicago still. New York. Scotland. Somewhere in Latin America, maybe Iberia.

14. What is the best new product you've tried recently?

Arizona Blueberry White Tea. Lovely.

15. Tell us about something you've learned about recently.

Anthony Hopkins. Turns out he�s Welsh, not strictly English as I�d previously thought. He�s been married 3 times and has played two American presidents (Nixon in �Nixon� and JQ Adams in �Amistad�) and Hitler.

16. What is a tried and true product or service you can't live without?

Dry cleaning.

17. Finish this sentence: "Inspiration is...."

Wandering.

18. What current tv show is tough to resist? Oh wait, you guys don't do TV. Nevermind.

I watch a bit of TV. I guess I like catching the Daily Show or Colbert Report when I can. I like Scrubs on DVD. I�m just inconsistent with making a point to see that stuff.

19. Describe your political position, just like in general. Like, in less than 3 sentences.

I�ll try. States are arbitrary and artificial. Corporations are becoming the new states. Ends do not justify the means; if your ends are just, then you can achieve them through a just means. Controlling people through fear will only lead to disaster. If you are not free in your mind, then any other kind of freedom will never be a reality. Let�s go.

20. Name a guilty pleasure of yours. Example: Rocking out to Michelle Branch when you're alone.

I like clothes from Express (which never should�ve changed from Structure). I act aloof, but I know more about fashion then I let on. That�s embarrassing. But really they do make nice pants.

21. Describe a great night out in Athens. And one in Chi-town too.

Athens: Meeting up at someone�s old beat-up place. Catching a show and playing some Hobo Scrabble at Donkey. Crashing around at Courtside. Wandering around College Green. Late night run to Wal-Mart. Passing out.

Chicago: Still looking for the quintessential experience. So far it involves the Drake Hotel and a dive bar.

22. Tell us about a place we should all visit sometime.

Isle of Mull, Scotland. Beautiful. Friendly people, too.

23. Who is your favorite unsung hero?

I do not know. I might pick someone lauded too loudly. So, maybe just parents (Mine included). Parents, grandparents. Propelling generations forth. Grandiose stuff.

24. Who is someone else you admire and why?

Jesse Owens. I like sports. He was a Buckeye. And he absolutely stuck it in Hitler�s face. In Hitler�s hometown. That�s cold. Or Johnny Cash.

25. Are you proud to be an American?

Not really, but not because we�re the world bully/idiot right now. I just think nationalism itself is kind of dumb. We�ve done great things and horrible things, the same way that Christians have accomplished great feats and destroyed many lives. If anything, I�m privileged, but I�m not really proud to say that where I was born has largely determined what I�ve been able to do. Shame, maybe sorrow, that other people can�t say the same thing about being born in Rwanda.

26. What is one thing you know for sure is true?

I exist. Actually, I�ll take most of what Descartes said. I can�t prove God, per se, but I�m not too worried about the possibility of some malignant demon tricking me into thinking I exist when I don�t. There�d still have to be some thing to deceive, right? Enough.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!