click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:09 p.m. - 2006-02-06
in the news
There are three things in the news today that I find really odd and disturbing on very different levels.

1. The lady with the face transplant. I mean. Whoa. She is wearing someone else's FACE. This brings a lot of movie refernces to mind. Like that Face Off movie with Nicholas Cage and John Travolta that I actually thought was kind of good. Kevin laughs at me and deems it "AWFUL." And when he thinks something is truly bad, he says the word "awful" in two very distinct syllables and almost as though he is choking out the word: "AHWW-Ful". And that movie where Minnie Driver gets someone else's heart and David Duchovny falls in love with her and it turns out it's his wife's heart or something. Strangely, Kevin liked this movie and I did not. Anyway, back to this woman and her new face. I'm happy she has a face now, since her dog ate her orginal face. I really am. But it is a really weird thing to think about and a weird thing to see if you haven't yet. http://www.cnn.com/2006/HEALTH/02/06/face.transplant/index.html

2. The uproar over these cartoons depicting Mohammad as a terrorist. Ok. I know they're offended by these cartoons. Mohammad wearing a turban that has bomb fuse at the end of it. Ouch. I mean, I'd be offended if someone, say for example, drew a cartoon of Jesus doing something violent, since my view is that such a thing would be out of character. Oh wait, people do crap like that all of the time. Anyone ever see the Jesus is a Homo t-shirt. And yes, there would be Christians, who in my opinion, have it all wrong, who would get up in arms about someone wearing that t-shirt and tear it from the person's body and burn it in their face. I guess I just don't understand the need to FREAK OUT when you're offended.

And here is the ridiculously obvious irony: The Muslims who are rioting and storming embassies and all of this nonsense are propagatingand promoting this violence, which is becoming, in more people's minds characteristic of those who follow the Muslim religion. My favorite was this: In Paris, France Soir -- a newspaper that published the cartoons of Mohammed -- was evacuated for nearly three hours Monday after receiving a bomb threat.

A bomb threat?!?! You get mad because someone makes the statement that Mohammad and muslims are violent, and so you threaten to physically harm and maybe kill some other people. Hmmm. Someone just isn't thinking this stuff through.

3. And finally, the following headline, which I just don't have the energy to follow up on right now, and which is disturbing enough on it's own:

Wheelchair Barbie fulfills a girl's dream.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!