click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:06 a.m. - 2006-02-06
fabio's ding dong
Well, as you may have heard, the Steelers won the Superbowl. They won after 25 years of not winning it. In factg, they've only been to it once since then, when I was a senior in high school and they lost that one. I was 2 years old the last time they did so I definitely don't remember it.

It was a tight game and neither team played their best. But Pittsburgh finally stepped it up in the second half and won.

It was pretty amazing to be a part of. Kevin and I watch the games at this bar outside of the city called Malone's Too. The bartenders are very good and I especially like that now that we're regulars, when we come in the door, one of the bartenders has a big bowl of lemons all cut up for me. See, I put lemon wedges in my beer, and if I have more than one or two beers when we go out to a bar or restaurant, basically it seems like I am asking the waitress or bartender for more lemons all night. The smart ones catch on quick and usually just bring me a cup of them or tell me to help myself from the container on the bar that has the lemons and limes and olives and whatnot. The not so smart ones keep bringing me, like, two tiny ones every time I ask and give me an exasperated look. Hey, I may be slightly demanding in this one regard, but I do tip well.

But this bartender, not only provides me with the exact right amount of lemons for the duration of one NFL football game, but she actually prepares them for me before I even get there. Isn't that great?

My favorite non-football part of the game of course is the commercials. However, my top moment of the night was when this happened:

There's this skinhead dude who goes to the bar we frequent. We can't tell if he's the racist or anti-racist kind of skin head, so we just choose to hope that the lack of visible swaztikas indicates that the latter is the case. Well, he sat next to Kevin for this game and halfway through, he's Kevin's new best friend. High fives all round when the Steelers do well, etc. Well this commercial comes on that features Fabio, prince of romance novel covers and....what else? What DOES he do? Does he have like a workout show or something or is he just like Paris Hilton where people think he's interesting for some reason and some people find him devastatingly attractive...anyway, this commercial comes on and expressing similar sentiments, the Skinhead Dude says something like "What is so great about Fabio? I mean, all I can figure is that the dude is hung like a horse." He says this in all seriousness to Kevin. I hear this only halfway as I am still watching the commercial, and as I am half listening, it dawns on me that what is now happening is that Kevin is trying to gracefully exit a conversation about this size of Fabio's ding-dong without offending the gigantic tattoo-covered hopefully-not-a-Nazi Skinhead dude, who is fairly earnestly pursing this conversation topic. Ah, Pittsburgh, we love you.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!