click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:00 p.m. - 2006-02-07
The Grammy's
So, tomorrow is the Grammy's. My Irish boys will be there, of course, hopefully to receive the Best Album award. It seems they will be performing as well, with Mary J. Blige no less. Excellent. It's been a busy week for Bono, you know. Coretta dubbed him "a son" so her death was likely a personal event for him. That whole prophetic prayer breakfast thing. (Why can't I ever get a ticket to any of these events. It's not like trying to get superbowl tickets, or at least it shouldn't be. I just want to mee the man in person so he'll hire me. Is that so much to ask for?) And now the Grammy's on Wednesday.

The Grammy awards that you see on tv are only a small slice of all of the awards they actually give out. There are well over 100 of them.

There are actually some nominees, somewhere (they probably don't get invited to the Grammy's because Paris Hilton and her entourage take up the whole left side) who have to watch the show in some satellite location with B-movie stars like Faye Dunaway and has-beens who don't make the cut for current reality shows like, oh, say, the girls from the Facts of Life. Yup, almost definitely, Tootie is sitting next to the guy who is praying "Please God, please let me win Best Small Ensemble Performance, with or without Conductor!" And Larry Wilcox from CHiPs is hanging with the crew who has their fingers crossed for Best Poka Album.

You should watch it, if for no other reason than there isn't anything else good on before Lost comes on at 9...oh, and because you don't want to miss Mariah Carey who will win the awards for "Shortest Dress", "Most Cleavage" and "Shiniest Lips" simultaneously.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!