click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:27 a.m. - 2005-06-08
kick ass mocha torte
Beverly Hale is a person who I get annoyed at because she doesn't live near me. Not like it's any more her fault than mine. But it's annoying. She keeps me in check and calls me out on my B.S. and reminds me that we are always a work in progress and to never stop fighting the good fight even if it's hard and you're cranky and tired and bored and frustrated. She also makes a kick-ass mocha torte and is my favorite person to sing with. Here's Bev...

How do you know me/tell how we met
We met my senior year of high school when you and Matt lived in the same dorm your freshman year (1996).


What is your occupation?
I work for The Navigators mentoring adults in their faith and helping them become more holistic in their approach to life and faith (as I learn it myself)


Who do you live with and where?
Detroit, Michigan with my husband, Matt


What would you most like to communicate to the thousands (no, let's be
honest: millions) of people who read this blog?
Somehow I got left behind when our generation caught on to blogging and the �I�nternet. How do you all do it?


Tell a story with me and you in it from back in the day:
I wouldn�t do the story justice, but many funny things happened on our trip to South Carolina. Us laying sun burnt and naked covered in aloe with someone knocking on our cottage door. As well as you finding a cockroach in your underwear so you dance out of them and run bare butt screaming around the room with tears streaming down your face. Those were good times!


Do you have any hobbies we should know about?
I love singing and playing guitar (which I wish I spent more time on), reading, watching movies (right now I�m watching x-files from the beginning, I�m only on season 2), and I�m also really into the Pistons (Detroit�s basketball team) who thought that would have happened.


Is there anything that people don't "get" about you that you just wish
everyone would?
Well . . . that questions hits at the core of what I�ve been working through recently. I wish people would get that I�m mixed�black AND white. That�s who I am and that I don�t want to choose one or the other.


Who is the most important person you've ever met?
I met Alice Walker when I was in high school. At the time I was into poetry and had just written a series of pieces modeled after her writing (which coincidentally were about the struggle of being mixed). It was a very disappointing meeting since she was late and very tired.


What is the worst name you've ever heard of someone naming their child?
Matt reminded me of the last person in the O.U. phonebook: Fred Zweiner


Greatest strength?
I�m pretty good at cutting through the crap and being real and honest with people. What you see is what you get.


Lamest weakness?
I assume too much about people and judge them based on that.


What you'd do if you won 200 million dollars right now:
I have no idea and I�ve thought about it before (not 200 million specifically). I honestly hope I don�t since I would want to give it away to help lots of people but I�m afraid I would just get greedy instead.


Favorite beverage (non-alcoholic)
Cranberry-Grape juice


Favorite alcohol beverage:
Amaretto Sour (I�m a sucker for the sweet stuff)


Favorite dessert:
Wow, I love dessert. Maybe I should have put that as one of my hobbies. I�ll go with real good homemade cheesecake, but it�s a hard call.


Most romantic moment of your life:
You asked for it. When Matt proposed. He made 20-some collages telling the story of our relationship (starting with my birth), laid them in a trail with candles from my front door to my upstairs bedroom. He was waiting there on his knees with a ring.


Next vacation planned:
Matt and I were hoping to go to California sometime soon (on our tax refund)


Best thing to do on a night out in Detroit:
In the summer there are a lot of festivals and you can see some pretty good bands for free


One thing you know for sure is true:
That�s a hard one.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!