click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:57 a.m. - 2005-05-27
Interview with a former dancer
Today we have an interview from Jen DiSalvo. She is a great lady...smart, interesting, quick witted and resilient. Friends, meet J-Di.

How do you know me?

Directly, I met you through Jen Spingola, AKA Spags back in the day, my co-worker at ol' Waves Music in Monroeville Mall, where I worked part time during high school in the Port (McKeesport, for those of you not in southwestern PA). Spags was your next door neighbor and long time partner in crime. The more time I spent with Jen, the more I got to hang out with you. Yeah!

The interesting connection (which I'm sure is true of half of the people we know from our hometowns) is that I had your momma as a teacher for several years of grade school. And, yes, she is one of my all time favorites!

What is your job?

In terms of what I spend doing 40 to 60 hours a week, as "gainful employment", I should like to say I am a Landscape Architect, but technically, I can't...I'm a Landscape Designer. If I do pass this last section of my licensing exam (June 13...eek), then I get to be Jennifer DiSalvo:Landscape Architect. I work for a multi-disciplinary engineering firm in downtown Pittsburgh. Here's a bit about what I do www.asla.org. I encourage you to check it out - especially if you think I probably cut grass all day - I'm not that lucky. Really - it's very creative & rewarding, though - believe it or not - very stressful sometimes!

Who do you live with and where?

I currently live with my faithful companions: Zoey the cat and Mario the husband, in the southern Pittsburgh suburb of Bridgeville. We live in a townhouse, in great little mixed development called Hunting Ridge. Trivia tidbit/not so exciting geographical claim-to-fame: That chick Jenna who won one of the Survivor installments is from there.

What would you most like to communicate to the thousands of people (millions,
really..let's be honest) who read this blog?

Hmm...I guess I would like to mention that you are awesome (I guess your fine readers already know that). I appreciate your blog putting a smile on my face just about every day - and thanks to your other blogging buddies - I have had much enjoyment in perusing your sites as well! What else? I'm lame - I have nothing to say! Maybe I'll have something brilliant to share in a few days.....nah.

Tell a story with me and you in it from back in the day:

Let's see....I have to open the HS vault for this. Actually, my memories all kind of jumble together-but, at its most precious, ours was a time of summer cruising, trying to make our own fun, wherever we might find it. Some of the best times were the excitement of us hitting Club Uropa for our PK and STP spottings! Particularly, I recall one time when we were able to smuggle a whole 12 oz beer with us - to split - "pre-club". Such outlaws, us two.

Do you have any hobbies we should know about?

Cumulatively, a bunch. I get on "kicks" very easily. Let's see...cooking, candle making, scrapbooking, cake decorating, calligraphy, gardening, knitting, drawing, photography, writing, golfing, bowling, snowboarding, skiing, tennis, maybe some Nintendo here & there. The only things I do consistently are sleeping, eating, drinking...etc. Although, for most of my life I did dance (the clean kind, boys), but I don't so much anymore. Hobby-type activities are the ever-changing spice in my life. Ha. I used spice & my life in the same sentence. Funny because I think my life is not so exciting...but that's OK!

Who is the most important person you've ever met?

Well now...depends how I want to take that question, doesn't it? The most important people in/to my life - always - are my friends and family. In terms of important on a much larger scale....geez, I don't think I've met anyone! A few prominent politicians - but I say that doesn't really count - they were all Republicans.

What is the worst name you've ever heard of someone naming their child?

First Name: April
Last Name: Showers
For real, she's with a consulting firm we work with.
No, no, no, I take that back-I forgot to reflect on HS classmate names...Aquanetta, "Auckie" for short. Don't you just immediately picture a woman scanning the top of her dresser in the 70's, while about to give birth, for inspiration on that?

Greatest strength?

Generosity....maybe? If I can help a situation via my personal skills or possessions, or can give someone something I know they need or would want, it thrills me.

Lamest weakness?

I'm late - consistently. It sucks. I try to set the clocks/watch fast, but I just can't trick myself. I definitely think that's a LAME weakness.

Favorite beverage (non-alcoholic)

Captain & Coke
(OK....minus Captain)

Favorite alcohol beverage:

Captain & Coke

Favorite dessert:

Not a big dessert fan, but I can usually be enticed if there's creme brulee available. Oh wait, there is another favorite-the seasonal torte from Oakmont Bakery....to...die...for.

Most romantic moment of your life:

OK...so I just looked up "romantic" in the dictionary to help me out on this one. So, I guess one moment stands out if I think of the craziness of two kids "in love". It was one of those "I want to hold on to you forever" moments with great and meaningful declarations & sentiments, outside, at night, during a spring rain, when the reality of the long-distance relationship was going to intervene again the next day.

Next vacation planned:

Cozumel, Mexico...with the girls...June 2...woohoo!

Best thing to do on a night out in the Burgh:

My favorite fun would probably center around the South Side. Dinner at Nakama...drinks on the Fat Head's patio...or live music at Club Cafe...or dancing at Matrix..with a bunch of buds! The really interesting part of going out in the Burgh is the people you will meet. Particularly on the SS, your fellow drinkers & diners area a friendly lot...pretentious people are relatively few and far between, I think-thank goodness!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!