click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:05 p.m. - 2005-05-29
Another introduction
Lemonscarletland readers....meet Mae Klingler. Aka, MadDog. Quirky, hilarious, observant, squeezably cute, musically inclined, nay, gifted. All round smurftastic.

How do you know me? Jessi was one of the first people I met when I got to OU. She grabbed me before I could become the party girl I had planned on being. So, in part, thanks to Jessi, I had far fewer one-night stands, keg stands�any kind of stand.


What does your life consist of right now? Is this a lesson in humility or something? My life consists of looking for the perfect foray into the 9-to-5-ish working world, while still very much a part of the 10-to-6:30 working world of Starbucks. So my life for most of my waking hours consists of steamed milk and lots of sugar and caffeine.

Seriously though, it also consists of a lot of figuring out. Figuring out how to play music in a new city. Figuring out if I�ll live here for more than 9 months. Figuring what I want my life to look like. And, for the record, I think hell is probably a lot like being in a small store where the air conditioning is broken and sweating while making frappuccino after frappuccino for annoying business people.


Who do you live with and where? I live with two roommates, Biz and Amy, in Cincinnati, Ohio. Where the pork runs a�plenty and the river sometimes has dead cows and people in it.


What would you most like to communicate to the thousands of people (millions, really�let's be honest) who read this blog? Hmm�Jessi has covered the whole tipping thing, the spider thing, the Bono thing. I guess � don�t stick a fork in the toaster.


Tell a story with me and you in it from back in the day or whenever: It has to be the snot story. Jessi was my Bible study leader back in the day. Really only a few years ago. And one particularly emotional night, the whole group was praying, Jessi was crying, it was all very intense. I looked up, as I tend to do when someone is praying, and noticed that, due to the intensity of the moment, there was an ominous and rather vulnerable bit of bodily fluid precariously hanging from one J-Do�s very own cute little nose. It was about two seconds away from landing on her (probably) black shirt and, to be honest, sometimes a wet boogie on your shirt can ruin your night. I didn�t have a lot of time to think, so I did something that even surprised me. I reached up and wiped her nose. But the worst part was that I couldn�t stop the prayer, leave, wash my hands and come back without making a scene. So I had to stand there with my hand full of someone else�s snot until it was over. And then I knew it was real love.

Do you have any hobbies we should know about? It�s gotta be the guitar.

Who is the most important person you've ever met? This is a toughie. As far as musical influence, I recently met Gillian Welch and David Rawlings. These people are pretty important to me in the artistic sense of the word. But, as far as lasting value, the friends that I have have got to be the most important people I know.

What do you wish people would just "get" about you that they usually don't? I love being around people, but I also love being alone. And usually when I am in solitude, everyone thinks I�m upset.

What is the worst name you've ever heard of someone naming their child? Bolf. The most accurate way to know how this is pronounced is to pretend you�re vomiting while you�re saying the word. Or Christmas Eve Elizabeth Brown. That�s pretty bad, too.

Share one of your latest crazy stories...and "guess what happened to me" story: David Rawlings played my guitar. There�s probably some Metro stories I can�t think of at this hour.

Greatest strength? Lately, I�ve consistently been able to make people laugh so hard they either spit their latte out or, if I�m really lucky, it comes out the nose.

Lamest weakness? Extreme conceit and insecurity. And based on the last answer, massive immaturity.

Favorite beverage (non-alcoholic) Half caf double tall percent add foam toffee nut latte.

Favorite alcohol beverage Malibu rum and orange juice.

Favorite dessert: Key lime pie.

Most romantic moment of your life: It�s sad to say (or at least sad to everyone else reading this�I loved it) that this might have to be when Lyndsey Johnson now Teter and I drank a bottle of port and rubbed each other�s feet on one of our last nights in Athens together. Lots of possibly unsober sentimental things were said. Old Mexican met were met. I don�t care, I think it counts! Unless lying to a boy to get him to hold your hand on a roller coaster is romantic.

Next vacation planned: A road trip to Savannah to camp on the beach. Or a trip to the Burgh to see Patty Griffin.

Best thing to do on a night out in Athens: Music has to be involved�I�d say a Stella show. Darts and beers at Tony�s. Maybe a trip up to Bong Hill and a game of �Snap Judgments� on the court house steps. Followed by a midnight stroll at Stroud�s Run. Yeah, sounds nice.

One thing you know for sure is true: At least Jessi will read this all the way through.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!