click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:10 p.m. - 2005-05-25
Interview # 1.
OK Folks, it's time for a new trend to start. Feel free to copy me on your own blogs. This will be fun. It will give great people who know me an opportunity to learn more about each other. You know, great people would never know the other great people who exist, were it not for the amazing invention of blogs. For example...people like Cat and J-Di. You guys would like each other by the way.

For this reason, I've decided to do a series of interviews. I sent out some questions to people who I know would 1. write me back. 2. be interesting and 3. that I care about and want to show off to everyone. Do not feel bad if you have not yet been interviewed. Unless the reason I didn't send you questions is because you suck at answering emails. Then you should feel bad. Shame on you. Otherwise, fret not; your time is coming. You may currently be busy with grad school, about to pop a baby out of you, or the sort of person who would feel a lot of pressure about this sort of thing. I have a firm (stolen from Kelly so many years ago) "No Pressure" policy.

Brooke is first because, well, she responded first. And that is not surprising. First come, first served...this is a consistent policy in Lemonscarletland. This should not be surprising. You all know I am impatient.

My questions are followed by Brooke's answers. Thanks Brooke for your quick response...Let it be fairly stated, however, that Brooke and I are both of the "flexible schedule" and "lot's of time for email" job persuasion. I understand some people have jobs where it is like, important for them to like, work all of the time or whatever. Like J-Di. Who's answers I anxiously anticipate. Without further ado, Ladies and Gentlemen....Brooke Williams....

How do you know me?

We went to college together, and lived together for a year at 22 Stimson, which they are tearing down to build a bank. Nothing's sacred. Sigh.

What does your life consist of right now?

At this very moment, it consists of sitting at my day "job" at the Alumni Association waiting for my next task, which could be 2 minutes or two days from now. I check a LOT of email. On a larger scope, my life consists of writing, developing my music into some semblance of a career, and trying to get out of debt.


Who do you live with and where?

I live by myself in Athens, Ohio. My apartment is small, but still bigger than the one I lived in in New York with Megan.


What would you most like to communicate to the thousands of people (millions, really..let's be honest) who read this blog?

Hmmm...that I also have a fun blog where I communicate many important facts, at www.brookewilliams.blogspot.com (This is a cop-out for not being able to think of anything at the moment)

Tell a story with me and you in it from back in the day or whenever:

Oh geez,....there are lots. One of the more recent is that Jessi was kind enough to come up to help me move all of my stuff back to Ohio from New York. The next to last night, we went out for a going away party of sorts, and Jessi said "this would make a perfect "make out with a random stranger" night. You're leaving, we'll never run into them. It didn't quite work out that way, so as I was kissing one of my best guy friends goodnight for the 80th time (a new development) she says to me dryly, "I think you're having trouble fully grasping the "kiss a random" concept."

Do you have any hobbies we should know about?

Hmm, I have more passions than hobbies. I typically don't like to engage myself in something unless I can get really good at it or do it at least semi-vocationally. I would LIKE to have tennis as a hobby, if someone would teach me. Watching professional tennis (and OSU football, when in season). There. That's a hobby of mine. I also enjoy decopage. Celebrity boyfriends...that's more of a quirk than a hobby, but I have them.

Who is the most important person you've ever met?

I suppose saying "Justin Timberlake" or "John Mayer" is out of the question. Ah, let's see. Maybe Ralph Stanley. He pioneered bluegrass music. This is a bad question to ask me. I wish I could say "Nelson Mandela" or "Bill Clinton" but I've got nothing like that. All of mine are pop culture related. To me personally it was probably Gillian Welch and David Rawlings, because they are one of my top influences, and they were so nice and down to earth and encouraging. I'll never forget Gillian telling Mae and I to keep at it, because she struggled at the beginning, and she has a career now.

What is the worst name you've ever heard of someone naming their child?

The numeral 7. That's horrid. Wilhemina Lusty is also bad, but Lusty is her married name.

Share one of your latest crazy stories...like a "guess what happened to me" story:

My car's tire was flat on Friday, and although thanks to several friends and the Tire place on State street it was fixed for only 8 dollars, I found my car making some intriguing noises and vibrations on Saturday. (I should note that since then, these seem to have largely stopped, making me wonder if I was paranoid from the tire incident and imagining them.) I needed to be in Columbus in order to play publicist to an artist "friend" of mine, so I call my good friend Gabe, who frequently comes to my rescue, and who is my go-to person for emergencies such as this one.

Gabe does not disappoint. He is contemplating a trip to Columbus himself, and offers to drive me, if I in exchange will explore staying for this free concert he's heard rumblings about. We show the art, the gallery loves it, we go to dinner at a great Irish pub, and quiz Gabe's brother for information. There is in fact a free concert on OSU's campus, but it requires a student ID. His wife kindly offers hers, and we set off to blend in as buckeyes.

Not only did the fake ID thing work (keep in mind, I didn't drink til like, last year, so this was new and thrilling for me) but we found we were at a Talib Kwali, The Roots, and Keane show for free. After figuring out how long we have til the headliners, we leave (in the midst of Flogging Molly) to a local bar and share Jack and cokes and good conversation. We then proceed back inside (seriously, guards--check the IDs) and watch the Roots (complete with Kwali and Vernon Reid from Living Colour) and then a FANTASTIC show by Keane, whom I love, from like the second row center.

We stay up late at his brother and sister in law's, over beer and more conversation, and then head home the next morning, stopping to fill up on Amish food so good I'm still thinking about it four days later.

Only I could blow a tire in Athens and end up second row at Keane in Columbus, at a concert I don't have access to. For free.

Greatest strength?

The drive to not give up. (interviewer's note: Brooke's greatest strength is her ability to get into exciting events that cost a lot of money, that she has no business being in, without money changing hands or sexual favors being alluded to.)

Lamest weakness?

Hot musician boys. Especially if they have messy hair and tattoos and love Jesus even a little.

Favorite beverage (non-alcoholic)


Ski --bottled in Wellston...like ghetto mountain dew.


Favorite alcohol beverage


Jack Daniels or PBR


Favorite dessert:

My mother's homemade Apple Pie topped with my father's homemade Ice Cream

Most romantic moment of your life:

When my ex surprised me by skipping his family Christmas (with their blessing) to come see me in New York because I didn't have the money to fly home, and we spent amazing five days together in the city that at the time we both agreed were the best days of our life.

Next vacation planned:

New York City to see everybody and stay up all night in the Village. Soon.

Best thing to do on a night out in Athens:

Play darts at Tony's, play Hobo Scrabble at Donkey.


One thing you know for sure is true:

That if I ever run into Andy Roddick at a club, we're leaving together.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!