click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:22 a.m. - 2005-05-06
Jammy Jam
I'm in a sassy bad mood because somebody asked me if I'm an intern today. I am trying to attribute it to my youthful good looks, but when you're in the process of establishing yourself as a professional and somebody relegates you to the same category as Paris Hilton, things aren't going so well.

Last night, I sewed. I sewed a seam in my jean skirt. I am domesticated. The last time I sewed somthing was in home ec class in 1990, where they made us sew a pair of "Jams", which is just a term for "ugly shorts that no one wants to wear." Mine were a disaster as you can imagine. I am not patient enough to use a sewing machine...I would push that pedal thing and make it go really fast, and screw it all up and have to start over....not surprising.

I'm not patient enough for a lot of things....shaving my legs properly, stopping fully at stop signs, waiting for the copier to warm up...this always results in me walking away from it and forgetting about it and it shutting off automatically and me having to start it all over again. I also can't stand a lot of your voicemail systems. The following is pure torture for me:

You have reached the voicemailbox of 555-666-7777. Press 5 to page this person. Please leave a message after the tone. When you are finished recording your message you may hang up or Press 1 for more options. Beep.

This drives me bonkers. BONKERS. I say things like this in my head while this recording is going on "I'm wasting hours and hours of my life listening to this same stupid message every time I call this person. Yes! I know I can press 1! I hate you stupid operator lady!"

If you didn't know, you can actually turn off this function so that it just beeps and people can get on with their lives. At least, I think you can. Ask Bob. He knows about stuff like that.

But seriously, how long before the phone companies are confident that everyone knows the drill? I mean, when they first came out with telephones, was there a recording that said "Please dial the number of the party with whom you'd like to speak." (?) And then eventually, they just figured everyone finally knew what to do with the phone once they picked it up?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!