click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:40 p.m. - 2005-05-04
cow tipping
So I just came across Chris Cantoni's blog entry on tipping. And because I disagreed with it, I responded, and because I thought it an interesting subject matter, I copied it here. By, the way, I like Chris Cantoni and I think he has good things to say which can be found at monsterbeard.diaryland.com

On tipping in restaurants...

I have to say, as a person who A. has worked in the food and beverage industry and B. as someone who does a lot of social and business dining...I mostly disagree with this post. Tipping, in my opinion, is a MERIT based practice. My tipping goes as follows: Terrible or rude service, NO tip. Tipping whne someone has been rude to you or given you poor service simply reinforces their inadequate service. I also tell the manager if the service has been REALLY bad. This is out of courtesy to management. If I was a manager I woudl want to know if my employees were doing a shitty job. Adequate service: 15%. If they are doing the job satisfactorily and I got what I needed, I have no problem tipping the standard 15%. If the service was very good and/or the server went out of their way at all for me, 20% seems fair. I will also verbally compliment the service. If a server has done something outstanding, made a recommendation that I really liked, or provided an enjoyable experience because they are particularly funny or just really awesome at their job, I tip 25% AND tell the manager. As much as I believe the manager should know if their employees suck, they should also know about the ones that are great. I have a standing policy on trying to tell people who are supposed to be helping me when they have been helpful or not helpful.

My favorite response, when someone is being a real asshole is this: (said in a very sweet and polite voice and a pointed eyebrow raise at the end) "I'm sure you are trying to help but this is actually not helpful at all." This is best used with people who at no point have any control over any food you are going to be eating if you know what I'm sayin'.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!