click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:50 p.m. - 2005-03-28
Good Sport Award.
So this weekend was....interesting. Kelly gets the "Good Sport of the Year" Award. Both Kelly and my cousin came to visit. They are opposites in teh realm of, Oh, say Yasser Arafat and Ariel Sharon. I know Yasser is dead...this strengthens my point. Here are some topics that they each have strong and opposing feelings on. Dancing with men you've never met before and giving them your phone number. Music. Amount of skin to reveal to the public. Reading for pleasure. The beach. Television. Large hoop earrings. So, it was an...interesting weekend. My favorite was when for like an hour, every single song that came on, my cousin would be like "OH, I love this song!" Or "Oh my gawd, this song totally sucks!" Each time Kelly would nod heartily in agreement or shake her head in empathy...playing along and being the good sport she is. After a while, my cousin went to the bathroom and Kelly leaned over goes "Every one of these songs sounds exactly the same!"

Here's something new and different to do. Go to www.freecycle.com (I think. It might be www.freecycle.org) and sign up for your area. I warn you...you will get one million emails a day, so use an email account you don't use for anything else. Basically, you can give stuff away for free and find free stuff on this list serve. You get emails that say things like "3 year old Loveseat from IKEA, green, decent condition. You pick up." For the good stuff, you have to be quick...but there is some very good stuff to be found there. You can also get rid of stuff...it's very community centered, and it's a nice idea. However, there are some things I find humorous or uncomfortable. (Of course, to me, as you all know...humorous and uncomfortable are one and the same.) Example: I do not want to hear about anyone's bed being "gently used." OK?! Please! This is not information I need. Just say "It's in pretty good shape." If you tell me it is gently used, I will immediately and uncontrollably picture you and your skanky girlfriend gently USING it. Ew!! I'm glad you are gentle. But PLEASE! Please. K? The other thing that is funny about freecycle is the useless shit people put on here. I mean I know things that may not be useful to someone may be the perfect thing for someone else. Like, cardboard boxes that you have a million of after you just moved just kind of suck and get in the way. But if you are ABOUT to move, they are like freaking finding a bunch of quarter rolls in an arcade. Awesome, right? But people put some seriously worthless crap on there. Like a used address book. What? That's like saying "Hey, do you want all of my friends' and family's personal information?" Or perhaps, "Do you want a filled up address book with all of the addresses and phone numbers blacked out?" I mean, seriously, sometimes it's like "Hey, does anybody want this piece of toilet paper I just used? I don't want to throw it away and waste it." But other than that, it's totally the land of free couches and tupperware.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!