click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:18 a.m. - 2004-10-19
giants and heat controllers
Well I was going to hang out with Bev this morning, then it was changed to both Hales, then back to just Bev, and then apparently they were gobbled up by traffic and are not coming at all now. Hmmm. I got up at 9 for nothing? Listen here: Unemployment, even somewhat intentional unemployment such as this, has exactly one big huge benefit and that is sleeping for 14 hours straight if you want to. Not since the early days of OU did I enjoy such languid splendor. But Athens has coffee shops and delicious Casa food within walking distance from anywhere, and that, my friend is a GOOD reason to get your arse out of bed. Unfortunately at this juncture, Athens and Casa in all it's organic glory are approximately 260 miles south of me, and not a beakfast option on this fine fall day. It will be an apple for me instead.

Upon recommendation of Brookelyn and now myself, guys and girls alike will do well to check out www.giantmag.com; Giant magazine appears to be a very entertaining magazine for dudes, highlighting mostly music, movies, pop culture, etc. Finally, a still edgy magazine for guys without a bunch of naked chicks on the cover. No, I believe this time around it is none other than Jack Black, who (I think we are all grateful) seems to be fully clothed. This seems like a more tasteful, funnier version of Maxim. It's not exactly a small start up, as it was created by the dudes who founded such periodical greats as Interview magazine. Look for it in your local airport or Convenience store. Read it. Granted, it's brain candy...it's not like AdBusters or Sojourners or anything like that. It's just fun. We're still allowed to have fun, right?

Yeah, so when I went into Detroit the other day to visit some folks; it was about 10pm and I was cruising down the 94 highway in my new Jetta. It was rather chilly and as I grew colder and colder, I realized I had no idea how to turn on the heat...in the dark, going 70 miles an hour and I was late. Ummmm. Of course I'm pushing buttons left and right, CDs are popping out of the player, the radio station is changing, hazzard lights are flashing, high beams flicking on and off. Shit! I am a black, four door disaster waiting to happen. I eventually found the seat warmers and turned those on full blast and chose to be content with that. It didn't do much to warm my frozen fingers, but my butt sure was toasty.

When ever something like that would happen when I was younger, my mom, an avid reader of this blog, would say "Jess, you have to be smarter than the __________." (insert object that has gotten stuck, jammed, knotted, come apart, etc.) In this case, I unfortunately was not smarter than the dashboard. Although I will report that in broad daylight, the temperature knobs were quite easy to locate and very user friendly.

I taught an 8 year old to knit and she is better than me.

That is all. Free swim. Where's your buddy?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!