click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:58 p.m. - 2004-10-18
tickles and dance partys
Does anyone else have severely cold-sensitive teeth? My right, upper teeth simply cannot be used when consuming cold things. And I'm not talking about just ice cream. I'm talking like, a room temperature apple.

Let's see. I slept later today. Was called to come and fetch a feverish five year old from the elementary school. As might be expected, the fever disappeared and the energy level rose considerably from school to home. Hoever, the patient was instructed to go straight to bed until her sister arrived home from school. There were countless "Jessi! Can I come down now?" requests. No! And No. The last thing we want to do is give her the idea that coming home from school sick can be really fun. The secret is that it can be, especially if you have a willing and energetic baby sitter. But you don't, and neither does Darby, so everyone is expected to attend school for the entire day this week. This means you Katie and Catherine and Kelly.

Here is a Beach Boys lyric I heard today that sounded really nice.

"Wouldn't it be nice if we could live together in a world where we belong?"

Thank you Brian Wilson, you reclusive genius.

Don't you ever just want to gather up all the great people you've met along the way and smuggle them off to a private island? (Jen, that's what I would do if I won my own private island.) I mean, I know that's really selfish. So, no matter how rich and powerful I get, I promise not to do that, but that's what would be nice, for me anyway.

Tonight, a fellow who is a cousin of a business associate of Jen's came over and brought some muffins that are part of this diet thing he invented. Jen and I are going to try it. Why not, eh? Now that the eliptical machine in the basement is plugged in and there isn't as much toxic dust floating around, I can get back on track with my fitness level....for the last few weeks, the closest thing I've done to exercising is typing and getting out of bed. Ew. I hate that sluggish feeling. Ok, well, that's not entirely true. I did use the eliptical once last week, and afterwards, had a dance party in the basement one afternoon with my ipod. It felt like a Janet Jackson video. Except there were no squadrons of buff, gay men and toned six-pack bearing women (the stomach muscles, not the beer, although that would add an interesting twist) coming out of the corners of the cellar, ready to writhe around seductively to showcase my moves. Yeah, it didn't happen. And I certainly didn't imagine it or anything....er. Um. Yeah.

Well, storytime (8:00pm) has commenced and I am one of the story reader delegates. Unfortunately, story time has turned into tickle time...and tickle time inevitably turns into run around like crazy time, which is not good right before bed. Also, a five year old has discovered that I am, in fact, still ticklish. She just has this wiggly little way, during storytime, of sticking her cold little feet into places like my tummy that are not used to such invasions. It makes me squeal and shriek and giggle like I am her age. She thinks this is hilarious.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!