click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:14 a.m. - 2004-07-21
a potpourri of discussion items
OUr office is in upheaval. I'm leaving in September. Our fabulous ad-min is leaving in two weeks. Another co-worker left yesterday swearing very seriously that she had decided to divorce her husband of 35 years. Well, today she came in bearing gifts of delicious french pastries...mmm...those pinwheel raspberry things again. Thank the good Lord that I don't know exactly where this bakery is, otherwise I'd LIVE on their front stoop.

It's someplace in Ballard. If you know, DO NOT tell me.

Anyway, she's not getting a divorce. They kissed and made up and he gave her a new credit card.

Holly Phillips is wonderful. We spent nearly six hours "sharing" over a marinated veggie plate, hummus and pitas and more than two Michelob Ultras. There were stories of a cruise on the Amazon, adventures in Michigan, a new marriage, a budding romance, etc. etc. etc. I will miss Holly terribly.

Brooke saw Nora Jones, Ryan Adams, possibly Parker Posey and Gillian Welch all in one room. Never mind that Brooke sat on the same freaking toilet as Nora Jones.....somehow my life of french pastries and soy lattes pales in comparison......

You know, no one famous lives in Seattle. Seriously. I have heard of like 2 Dave Matthew sightings and that's it. My waiter-friend/drummer-friend, Mike, said he used to come in to Julias for breakfast...Supposedly he lives on Mercer Island. Supposedly his wife goes to school in my building (the Bastyre Medical school) but I wouldn't know her if she stuck a stethescope up my nose.

I once saw and chatted with Governor Locke while renting skis. Does that count for anything? I mean I've had my fair share of celebrity encounters, from Natalie Merchant to Punky Bruster....from Ani Difranco to Malcom Jamahl Warner...ten points for someone who knows who that is....but my Seattle celebrity sightings have been petty much non-ewxistant, unless you count rock shows, where certain musicians are EXPECTED to be there....

I guess I thought I'd come across Courtney Love, thrashing around on the sidewalk more often... I picture it now...her screaming at a cop, half dressed, doped up on cough medicine and cocaine. I've been in her old apartment building. I also saw some people making whoopie right in front of a second story window in that building. Gross.

Has anyone heard the new-ish Maroon 5 song that is on the radio now....it's not as fun as "This Love" but it's almost as good....something abotu "...she will be loved..." This band is worth a shot....within the current pop rock genre this is top of the line, as far as I'm concerned.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!