click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:56 p.m. - 2004-07-21
soiled
Questions:

Why are bathrooms so freaking COLD? I mean seriously. Do they do that because they want people to hurry up and move along, not taking too much time in there. I guess if we're talking about the McDonalds down on 3rd Ave. downtown, I can understand not wanting to encourage homeless people to spend time in there, but let's face it; if you're looking for a place to get high, you could care less what the temperature is in there as long as the door locks. Now, in places like my office, WHY is the bathroom so cold? Do "they" really think I'm gonna hunker down in there with a magazine for a half an hour if it's a pleasant temperature? I mean, if you have to "hunker down" for a half an hour, you have to hunker down for a half an hour....again, temperature is a small if not non-existent factor. I suppose it might just be a budget issue. If they have to pick one room to not heat, it's the loo. However, it is summer...it is unplesantly warm on practically the whole planet right now...except for your local ladies room. Are men's rooms chilly too?

Still on the subject of bathrooms...why is it that toilet seat covers never seem to do just that; cover the toilet seat? It's like, they are always just a bit smaller, leaving about a half inch ring of the outer edge of the toilet seat exposed. Now tell me how this is helpful? If everyone uses those, everyone's butt is touching the same spot, making it utterly useless. Why can't they just make them bigger? Have you been in the airports lately where they have those plastic liners that move around the rim automatically? They're a little scary at first...and the kind of sick thing is that you push the bottom, or actually "wave your hand in front of the sensor" BEFORE you use it....it seems to me that it's counter-intuitive....since you flush AFTER you use it...but I suppose it makes people feel better, seeing that they are actually disposing of the last person's liner, watching it be swept away out of their sight, and seeing their own, perfect, unused, fresh liner arrive from the great beyond, ready for soiling.

I really hate seeing that sign in hospitals that says "soiled linens." It just maeks you think of the worst, nastiest, dirtiest "soils" possible. I'd feel better if the sign said something like "these linens have been used." That gets the idea across without being quite so suggestive.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!