click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:38 p.m. - 2004-07-19
fantabulasticaness
So I told my boss today that I'm leaving.

I'm giving her TWO MONTHS notice. It helps me feel less guilty. I have an I-feel-bad-about-quitting problem. I agonize over it...this time isn't so bad because I can blame it on moving...but sometimes, like when you quit because you have a better job offer, it feels, at least in non-profit, like you're being critical of your boss's first born child. Saying "I found a better job" is like saying "I hate you and everything that you care about" and for emphasis, you strangle a puppy in front of their very eyes. OK, so maybe it's my issue.

I was thinking today....when someone, like a supervisor, overuses the word "great" or, like my boss does "fantastic" it becomes completely meaningless. You know how the word "Fine" when you ask how a close friend is doing means something closer to "Horrible, and it's your fault and I hate you now." ? Well, to me, "fantastic" has come to mean "Mediocre, par-for-the-course, ok, just barely good enough, and part of your job description."

She says it's fantastic when I turn in my time sheet on the day it's due. She says fantastic when I mail a letter. It makes me sad. I mean, for a while there "Fantastic" was the new "Fabulous." You know, like how pink is the new black...and has been for a while now. "Fantastic" nearly had a real place in my heart, usurping the overly gay undertones of "Fabulous" but still packing a solidly hip punch. Oh, Fantastic....she knows not what she does....

Maybe we could marry the two into an even better word.

Fabulantisticaness? This is already awful, I'll stop now.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!