click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:57 p.m. - 2008-05-20
up and down up and down
I got amazing news today - I got a big grant that I applied for. Woo!

Unfortunately the day kind of downgraded from there with a power outage at work - the power is still off and all of the food in our frezers and refrigerators is probably rotting by now. I suggested earlier today that we consider giving the food away to the residents in supportive housing but was kind of blown off because others seemed to think the power would come back on shortly. It didn't. That's a lot of wasted food.

Then I had a horrible experience at the dog shelter. A staff person was incredibly rude to me. Twice! For NO reason! So rude that I just walked out and left, leaving the volunteer coordinator who was attempting to smooth it over standing there. I just could not be calm any longer, so I left. I sent a strongly worded letter to the executive director. We'll see where that goes.

I feel like a magnet for crappyness this week so that leads me to think it might have something to do with me. Mostly I guess it has something to do with my reaction to it. I'm stressed out, I think.

I've been struggling with my paperwork for the new job. It's just complicated and requires a lot of organization - you wouldn't believe how many forms there are and they are all due on different days of the week and sent to various offices. Ugh!

We got a $500 bill for Kevin's car for work it needed to pass inspection which we were totally not expecting. Oh well, as my mom and I agreed today, at least we had it.

But! That grant was a big deal. It's getting me through the day.

And yesterday my little client was a holy terror. But! When I was leaving, he ran out into the yard and picked me a flower and gave it to me. He goes "That's for you!" Heart melting...

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!