click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:06 a.m. - 2008-02-27
in memory of.
Rest In Peace Myron Cope.

For those not from the Burgh, Myron Cope was a sports announcer for many years and was well loved by the entire city. He had this very distinct, screechy voice paired with an unmatched level of YINZER flavor.

My father loved him - especially his annual song written to the tune of Deck The Hall - he would write words that described the current Steelers season and it was always hilarious.

He invented the now famous Terrible Towel that has been copied by practically every other team that heads to the Superbowl and interestingly, in regard to the proceeds of the sales of that towel - Myron signed the rights over to Allegheny Schools - a network of facilities and programs that support people with severe disabilities. His son is disabled - cerebal palsy, I think - and has been part of that organization for most of his life. Due, in part, to the revenue generated from the Terrible Towel, Allegheny Schools is consistently the nonprofit in Allegheny county with the highest numbers in terms of revenues/assets.

Not only did he make my dad and millions of others chuckle for years, but he has helped thousands and thousands of disabled people - both legacies will live on.

Yoi!!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!