click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:53 p.m. - 2008-02-17
spoof, shoes, dogs
So hopefully you've seen the music video Yes We Can. it's pretty great. If you haven't, you can find it here. http://www.amy-neversaynever.blogspot.com/

But after you've seen that you should look here at this spoof that is pretty hilarious. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EUKINg8DCUo

And here's another one that is a little funnier. http://backseatcuddler.com/2008/02/11/johnheis-mccain-spoof-of-obama-yes-we-can-video/

So I saw this Internet ad today that said "FREE SHOES FOR A YEAR." I thought...hmmm. That's like...3 pairs of shoes. I mean, for my friend Haley that would be like 30 pairs of shoes so I guess that would be something. But seriouly. For the MOST part, I only buy shoes that I really like and I wear them for five years - until they die. This winter, I have worn two pairs of black boots - one with heels and one without. My Steve Madden Ugg-type boots that Haley gave me when she got a new pair. And my snow boots. I think that's it. Oh, my brown heeled boots for when I wear brown. That's really it. Last summer all I wore were black ballet flats, black heels and brown slip ons. I have a bunch of fancy shoes that I wear like maybe once a year - like, I wear one pair of them once a year. And I haven't bought any in years - they are all at least 3 years old or they have been given to me by Haley. I guess the point is that an ad that offers me free oil changes for a year is much more likely to get my attention than free shoes for a year.

I think I convinced Kevin to go and walk dogs with me today at the dog shelter, even though it is raining. This is significant because I have asked him at least four times to go and he never wants to. Kevin did not like dogs at all until he met my parents' dog, Shayna. He was chased by a dog on his bicycle once and it really freaked him out - he's kind of afraid of them. But he has gotten much better. However - I think the idea of intentionally entering a building filled with abandoned pit bulls and rottweillers is really terrifying to him. This is one of those things where my idea of fun and Kevin's idea of fun do not coincide. But if you value your marriage, you make sacrifices and do things you don't think are fun and that scare you to bring joy to your spouse. I go to see zombie movies because Kevin loves them, for example. And I kind of even like them now. And Kevin has (more or less) agreed to eat salmon from time to time if there is enough lemon and pepper on it to cover up the salmony taste that he does not enjoy. Because I like it. So, today, we will head out into the rain to take dogs outside to go to the bathroom.

He just said to me "What if I get eaten? Then you'll feel bad."

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!