click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:55 p.m. - 2008-02-18
The giant and the case of the missing tampon
Warning to men who are among the faint of heart when it comes to that time of the month stories. It's not graphic or anything - I'm just saying.

So I use OB tampons - the kind with no applicator because it's better for the environment. If this confuses you or if you need more info, email me, Ladies. OK, so this morning as I ran out the door, I shoved a couple in my pocket and off I went. I um, used one, later in the day and after that I was walking around with the maintenance man looking at the dry wall that had to be ripped out because of a dangerous mold that was growing there - yuck. I put my hands in my pocket and realized I still had a tampon in there. I thought to myself, I should put this in my purse before I accidentally pull it out if someone asks for a pen or something. About an hour after that, I was walking around, checking on students doing their homework and I put my hands in my pocket again...and realized, the tampon was gone. I thought, oh my gosh, when did I lose it?? And Where??? And in front of what 7 year old???? I immediately started blushing, waiting for a small voice to say "Ms. Jessi, you dropped something...hey what is this?" What would I say???

Well, I never found it. I looked high and low and retraced my steps, terrified of finding it (out in the open someplace) or not finding it...what if some kindergartener thought it was a toy from the prize box and shoved it in his back pack??? My only hope is that it fell out and rolled under the refridgerator never to be seen again.

I agreed to supervise a 12 year old who has been assigned community service hours for repeated physical fighting at school. She came today and is significantly taller than me. ME. Not little Kel who is barely 5 feet and has half a classroom full of 9 year olds who are taller than her. ME. I am 5' 7". I don't know a lot of adult women taller than me. Before I met her, I had been thinking about how this feisty little thing would require a little bit of tough love and "mean Ms. Jessi" just to set the tone that there would not be any tolerance of nonsense. She walked in and towered over me and I thought...hmmm.

She was actually really sweet and totally well behaved. And she cried when I very gently corrected her for this tiny little thing. Whew.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!