click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:15 p.m. - 2007-12-22
baby Ilkin

Well the big news of the day is that J-To finally had her baby! It's amazing though how accurate those due dates are. Just 4 hours past midnight on the due date, off she went to the hospital. Why do babies always want to be born in the middle of the night? At 9am, the babe was born. 7 pounds 6 ounces. Mom and baby are doing well. I spoke with Hakan at noon and he is a very happy Papa. Sure, he didn't have to do all of the work! Ha...just kidding - he did a great job of updating the family face book page so I knew what was going on all morning! And I'm sure there was a lot of hand holding, relative coralling and general coordination, not to mention cheerleading. I can't wait to hear all of the gory details.

No name yet for the kiddo - I guess it's still up in the air. Can't wait to hear what they came up with. Hakan is Turkish and they wanted a name that would work in and honor both languages and cultures. I imagine that is a tall order. Most of the Turkish boy names I've seen are a little tough in the translation department, meaning that when you say them with an American accent they lose something. I'm sure whatever they pick will be unique and perfect!

Congratulations to Jen and Hakan!!!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!