click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:27 a.m. - 2007-12-21
last night

OK, so today is my last day of work until 2008. Thank the good Lord. I am just kinda done, you know?

Last night the Steelers won. We had a very interesting night at the Castle Tavern. It was pretty wild and crowded. I am pretty sure I was sitting next to a hooker for one thing. At one point I went to the bathroom to discover a girl had fallen asleep on the toilet, the stall door open, her panties around her ankles and her head basically slumped over onto her knees. I used the other stall, washed my hands, dried them, looked in her stall to find her in the same position. So I said "Ummm. Are you ok?" And suddenly her head pops up and she's like "Yeah!" in that way you act when you've fallen asleep but you're trying to act like you're wide awake.

Mike let me pick the names for the big raffle. The first name I pulled, the guy was so excited I thought he was going to hurt himself. Apparently it was his birthday. I picked out Kevin's name (totally legit, I swear) and he got a really sweet Penguins bowling-style shirt.

A woman came in like 5 minutes before we were about to leave and basically plopped down and told us her life story. I cannot tell you how many times I have been with Kevin and for some reason someone just comes over to us, makes themselves comfortable and launches into what should be a private tale that shocks us and makes us cringe. Or like in this case, it's just really boring and we feel bad trying to slink away.

Santa Claus is coming to town today. Mac, my co-worker is going to be Santa for the kids and hand out gifts to them today at our party and even more exciting...Kevin is coming! Finally he will get to see me in action. I hope I have to yell or physically remove someone. That's always exciting. Little Ronald is due for one of his flailing, crying, screaming while face down on the floor for no apparent reason episodes.

Speaking of Ronald, he got in trouble for punching a small asian boy in the face and giving him a really really bad bloody nose on the school bus. I had to call the victim's dad and try to explain in very simple English (serious language barrier and the phone is twice as bad as in person) that his son had a really bad bloody nose, that he was fine and was it ok if I could launder his jacket which was stained in blood. I relegated Ronald to the couch, which is where you wait prior to sentencing in cases like this, and cried and sobbed the entire time because he knew he was in trouble. He does this every time he gets in trouble and it is always this sobbing, sniffling version of 'but I-I-I don't WANT....(whatever it may be like for me to call his mom, him to have a time out, him to be suspended, etc.) I just made him sit out there until he calmed down. after a while, the crying stops. A little while later, I hear something odd. It sounds like someone is using the staff bathroom (peeing) with the door open. I could clearly hear the stream going into the toilet. I get up and on my way to the bathroom I poke my head into Paul's office and we both kind of give each other that "do you hear what I hear?" look. I approach the bathroom and without getting too close, I can see that Ronald is using the toilet. He then zips up his pants and walks out. No flush. No hand washing. He comes by me and just kind of glances at me an dkeeps going, totally unaware of the issues at hand. I try to remain stoic and I say "Ummm. Ronald. When you use the bathroom, can you please shut the door so you have some privacy? And let's flush the toilet (I flush it) when we're done, and can you please wash your hands?" I hold out the soap. He obliges. I also wanted to say "And DO NOT EVER use my bathroom again." The boys' bathroom downstairs is a frightening place. It is cleaned DAILY by a professional cleaning staff that I pay out the wazoo for. Every morning it is sparkling. Every evening it is a disaster. And now the little urchins want to use MY bathroom. NO WAY.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!