click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:15 a.m. - 2006-12-02
reviews
Last night we watched rented A Prarie Home Companion and the Davinci Code. And I fell down the stairs. Ow. I am sore this morning. Please be careful if your steps are carpeted and you are wearing fuzzy socks.

A Prarie Home Companion is ok. I imagine if you sit around with your friends and watch it over and over it becomes funnier and funnier like Christopher Guest movies (which in my opinion are better than this one was) do. I do not enjoy seeing Garrison Keiler because I had this picture in my mind of what he looks like from his voice. The visual simply does not match. Similar to my experience with Terry Gross. I have been listening to her for years and picturing a very specific looking woman. I finally googled her and found a photo. I couldn't help but be diappointed. That sounds mean. I don't mean she's ugly or anything - in fact she's cute and I like how she looks. But I was picturing something else. With both of these people, when I hear them on the radio, even though I now know what they look like, I still revert to the picture I made up in my head. To me, Garrison Keiller will always be bearded and have gray hair and wear flannel shirts, and Terry Gross will always have medium length brown hair - kind of like Terri Hatcher when she played Lois Lane in the Superman tv show.

The Davinci Code was ok, too. Who doesn't love Audrey Toutou? Tom Hanks was ok. I kept wondering why they had him play the role. The character wasn't particularly interesting. Anyone could have played it. Why cast the most expensive actor in the land for something so simple? The movie was going to do well anyway because of that book. Who knows.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!