click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:16 p.m. - 2006-06-08
non-perks
I know everyone is excited about the death of AlZackowi Moustafi or whoever they killed in Iraq. But I must tell you the real news of today:

Seriously, they pretty much found a way to prevent cervical cancer. I know two people who lost women in their families to this type of cancer...it must be both wonderful and difficult for them to know that people have an option now that their loved ones did not.

In other news: Sorry about the blog being so sparse lately. I won't go on and on about why. You know why. Psycho boss and wedding approaching. Nuff said. But I'm going to try to be better. Really.

I want to upload some more pictures like the rest of you crazy people have been doing; your tours of america. I'll get on that at some point. Like 2009 maybe.

I had my first significant "hit" in terms of public relations today. This is a good thing. A decent size newspaper (Butler Eagle for you PA residents) picked up my story and even quoted me a few times. For those of you who would actually be interested...basically my fiance, my mom, maybe his mom...I'll try to scan and email you a copy.

I'm going to Arizona in 2 days. Here is what happens when I tell people I'm going to Tucson.

Me: SO, I'm going to Tucson, AZ.
Them: Oooh, nice. That will be fun.
Me: Yeah, well, except that I'm going with my boss and it's going to be 110 degrees there.
Them: Well, it's a dry heat.

A dry heat. Everyone keeps saying this. See, I know humidity is bad (in fact, I hate it.) But a dry heat really doesn't sound good, either. Bethany, who lives in the southwest said "Yeah, dry heat. It's dry alright. Like standing underneath a broiler." See, the sauna is a dry heat. When I go in a sauna, I think 1. It feels like I'm inhaling a fine mist of sand. 2. This is really unpleasant. Why do they tout this as compatible with pleasantries such as hot tubs and swimming. Yeah, I don't get it.

Oh and the part about my boss. See, we're going to a resort. Sounds fun, right? Ummmm. In addition to an already grueling schedule of workshops, she has informed us that we are going to any and all "optional" sessions. Some of these include 6am group exercise, 7am networking breakfast and 9pm cocktail and social party. Ummmm...sleeping anyone? And why on earth are we going to a resort? We don't have time to do anything. I may possibly glimpse a cactus or two as I am ushered from one windowless conference room to another. I can go to meetings in Youngstown. Or Harrisburg. Or Wheeling. And not take THREE airplanes and 8 hours to get there only to proceed immediately WITH MY LUGGAGE SO I DON'T MISS ANYTHING!!! to 6 hours worth of sessions on philanthropic giving tax laws. I hate you Continental Airlines and your multi stop travel experiences!!!! God, please let them ask me if I want to upgrade to First Class for free. Please!!!

I wrote a letter to the editor last night about this gay marriage thing. I was just like "People, please! They're just trying to distract you. Get a grip. Hellllooooo, it's an election year." I suggest you do the same. My letters to the editor always get published. Which leads me to beleive they don't get very many. I just hope my boss doesn't read it and get cranky that i'm being "controversial."

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!