click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:42 p.m. - 2006-06-14
not worth it.
I have a heat blister on my forehead from the sun in Arizona. That sucks, but what is awesome is that I spent a total of about 2 hours in the sun, over the course of four days and I am as tan and have just as much cancer-inducing gamma-whateva rays as someone who has had a summer of lounging around in the Pittsburgh sun.

I overflowed Kevin's toilet. I cleaned it up with towels that are used post-shower because I panicked and didn't know what else to use, and then I left his house, only to realize a mile or two away that I forgot to deposit said towels in the washer. Oopsie.

I cannot bring myself to address the giant pile of work that has ammassed over my 4-day absence. I look at it and start crying, so I look away and do something like check my email. With amazing irony, I share with you th efollowing: the last workshop I attended at the conference was on time management. I definitely learned not to write in my online diary when I'm overwhelemd by work, but I can't bring myself to follow that neat, perky little woman's advice. "Break your work up into manageable pieces! Sort it out into workable chunks and schedule out blocks of time to make the tasks more do-able." Able this Able that. Sorry. I am just unable. Unable to be that organized. I need an assistant or a work partner who is really organized but hates things that I love like talking to people, large crowds and public speaking. Oh wait, that's my fiance. I'm MARRYING that.

Everyone in my office is on the edge. The edge of sanity. The edge of mental health.

I've decided that I'm just not going to let it get to me. My trip to the dessert gave me some perspective, after talking to one co-wroker in particular who seems near suicidal. I just thought. You know, it's not fucking worth it. I refuse to have to take medication because of a job. Plus I like my job. As long as I don't think about how I'm doing a job that used to require three people and how it still requires three people, but I'm expected to do it all by myself somehow.

So, like any sensible person with way too many other things to do besides stress out like a maniac over her job, I did the obvious thing. I hired an intern.


previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!