click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:22 a.m. - 2005-10-31
This is being brought to you by j-do
My boyfriend is almost done with grad school! Yay! Today is a day I have been looking for, for quite some time. Kevin's last project is due. It is Halloween. The Steelers play on Monday Night Football. Yee-haw.

Amanda is coming over to help hand out candy to the little ones. I'm making chilli. Kevin will be finalizing his projects and then we will all settle in for some good old fashioned Steelers action. It is sunny, and supposed to be about 60 degrees tonight. All is well.

The swimming with the children ended up being characteristically eventful. Though I did not have to enter the water, I did almost have to rescue a drowning child because the 16 year old lifeguard had his attention 100% focused on biting his nails instead of as pool full of children, most of whom cannot swim. I was on the complete other side of the pool when the drowning began. If you've ever been a lifeguard, there is nothing like your eye catching that tell-tale movement of bobbing up and down, arms straight out and flopping uselessly. Every drop of adreneline surges and you have to stop yourself from plunging into the water, to make sure there isn't a fast, better, safer option. I clapped my hands and shouted, and got the attention of the nail biter, about one second before I jumped in. He was literally three feet away from the kid, wheras I was about 30 feet away. He grabbed a rescue tube and extended it to the little boy and pulled him in.

It makes me feel incredibly narcisistic (sp?) to say this, but once again, I really wonder what would have happened if I hadn't been there.

In other news, J-Di and I went to a fabulous place called Dish for eating and drinking. In the course of he evening, we met this delightful Turkish gentleman who insisted on having us sample his private stock of homemade wine, as well as the most amazing scallops I have ever tasted. Not to mention the mushroom bruchetta and meat and cheese plate we ordered ourselves. Dee-lightful. We felt like we were in Italy with the yummy food and all of these various foreign accents around us. A treat indeed.

And finally, I am really sick of the sponsorship announcements on NPR where they say "This is being brought to you by UBS Financial services....You and us..UBS." Or whatever. I hate that UBS one, specifically but my main annoyance is the "being brought to you" part. I realize this is more grammatically correct than "is brought to you by" but come on. It's awkward as hell and just plain snooty, as NPR can, at times, be.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!