click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:58 a.m. - 2005-08-26
Kermit Invents
Well, I quit the job where I called people about vinyl railings and windows and storm doors. In two weeks I made enough money to pay my rent (that's my rule...I have to make enough from other jobs besides my full time job for rent, and then I can fairly easily swing everything else with my regular paycheck.) Thank you cheap Pittsburgh housing rates.

I quit for the following reasons:

1. I had to drive to the middle of nowhere to get to this job. Literaly down a twisting, winding back road that turned into a gravel road. The drive way was something my mom and I would tear up on ATVs with glee, but it not something I enjoyed bouncing up in the Jetta.

2. I got sick of calling and bothering people only to learn that the person I was calling had just died, been put in a nursing home, got divorced, had their house broken into, or just had open heart surgery. I mean, it's a nice product but who the heck cares when your new born baby is in an incubator??

3. I missed the children and having great stories from the teaching gig, which I am going back to in a slightly different capacity in September.

Here is a story from yesterday, though.

I was in the Dollar store. Have I mentioned I love dollar stores? Here is why: I know I can afford ANYTHING in there. There is a shallow satisfaction to that feeling. But I love it. And where else can you buy a gallon of dish soap for a buck? My last trip to the dollar store, I bought an octopus night light and bunch of magnets. Total: $2.14

So I was in the dollar store and these two little boys came stumbling around the corner. The littlest one bumped right into me and looked up at me, first with a bit of fear and then with bright-eyed recognition. He was one of my students from the kindergarden class and his brother was in my 2nd grade class. The 5 year old looked up and me and smiled and put his little arms around my butt and hugged me and looked up at me adoringly and said "Hey...I know you....you're the Kermit Invents teacher..."

Just call me Miss Piggy....

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!