click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:34 a.m. - 2005-08-18
Thank you Art Gish
So I was driving to work this morning, listening to NPR as I do every morning. It's the only reason I don't HATE the 40 minute commute. Well, they were talking about the Cindy Sheehan protest (I know, this sounds like it should be more in the Social Justice Blog, but it's only a little politcal, promise) which I have mixed feelings about...briefly they are as follows: She has a right to protest the war. It is good to draw attention to the popular opinion that we shouldn't be in this war. Some Americans have sacrificed SO MUCH for this war that so many of us didn't want to be in, in the first place. It is good to keep that truth out there, lest it be forgotten.

However, at the stage the war is currently in, does it really make sense to just bring everybody home? I feel we have a responsibility to this tiny baby brand new government in Iraq. At the cost of more American lives? Yes, because we got them into the current situation. Maybe you think it's better and maybe you think it's worse than when Suddam was in power...but we can't just leave those people with these insurgents who are just waiting to pounce and take control of the country as soon as we leave unless Iraq becomes solified enough to take care of these crazies on it's own.

So, all that to say I support Cindy Sheehan and I think it's good and right of her to be insisting (perhaps fruitlessly) on Bush answering for his actions...but I don't think her ultimate demand "Bring everyone home now" makes sense, even though I don't agree with this war and I thoroughly do not appreciate being lied to about the reason for it and I CERTAINLY do not appreciate them using my tax money for it when I can barely afford to fill up the tank of my car and I need new brakes. Do you think if I wrote George a letter politely asking for my money back, due to "false advertising" and "unsatisfactory results" he'd give it to me?

The piece on NPR gave a little update and then went to it's member station WOUB to ATHENS, OH! It seems there was a demonstration there, in support of CIndy Sheehan. I love that little blue county in Ohio, nearly strangled by a sea of seemingly unending red. A lush blue island of intelligent hope in a depressingly unquestioning blood red...ok, enough, I know.

I bet some of you, dear Athenian readers, were there. Art Gish was quoted. I love that little Quaker man and all of his non-violent protesting. My heart swelled with pride, knowing that a little town of students and hippies and those of us who just can't find anywhere better to live can make its small voice heard.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!