click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:15 a.m. - 2005-05-02
looking at the birds
I had the most wonderful birthday ever ever ever.

Friday night: Kevin made me dinner, then we met up with the crew at Bar Louie. Everyone i expected showed up including some Athens folks. How pleasant. Then the die hards, i.e. Amanda, Matt, Derra, Kel, marc, Jen and Kevin and my birthday self headed over to Matrix. There was dancing on the bar (not by me....sorry, you had to be there) and all sorts of merriment. The best comment about the evening happened the following day when Kelly, acknowledging she was a bit tipsy that evening, said "Man, that red-headed slut really did me in." In reference to the obligatory birthday shot....a mildish fruity concoction. Saturday was spent errand running and kitty cat shopping. Kevin's cat, Henry, needs a girlfriend, so we were out match making. We did like one named "josie" but her info card said "does not do well with other cats." So, no suitable companion was found. I feel like we're arranging a marriage. Is this what people in India feel like?

Yesterday, my actual birthday began with church and ended with the word "Christianity." Yeah, after a nice dinner out, which included lobster (yum!) Kevin and my parents and I played Trivial pursuit and we won, on the question "What religion has the most followers in the world?"

On saturday night though, to back up a ways, I have to share a small story.....my friend Kelly's man-friend, Marc had his graduation party at one of those "social clubs" like the Elks club or the Eagle's club or the American Legion or whatever...and at this party, there were a lot of older members of the club. Well at one point, one of them, in answer to my question "So, um, what does the organization, like, do? And he talks about how they help the community. And I inquire further and he tells me about how they raise money for the Lions Club which, of course, assists blind people. And then he says the following:

"Yeah, you know, we raise money so these blind people can go to this summer camp for a week in the summer...it's a really nice place where they can go and see the birds and stuff...."

At this point, I am completely consumed by the desire, nay, the dire need to crumble to the floor and laugh my ass off. Unfortunately, I was the only one who actually heard this comment...I was biting the insides of my lips so hard and trying like hell to not crack a smile. When the gentleman finally moved on, I almost cried from relief.....I believe it's possible to go insane from holding that in for too long....

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!