click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:29 a.m. - 2005-04-01
REJECTION (not an entirely new concept to me)
So here's a big fat bummer. I know this is gonna sound crazy, but I have been trying to get an interview with Ali Hewson (Bono's wife) about her sweatshop free clothing line to either write for Jane Magazine or for my puny little business publication. Well, today, I got my rejection letter from the Communications Director at EDUN. I have chosen to post it here for the world to see. I haven't heard from Jane Pratt yet (laughs...as IF Jane is going to write me back) about writing the article for her magazine....without further ado, here is the letter from EDUN, Ali's clothing line. Maybe I should be happy they wrote me back at all?:

Dear Jessi,

Thank you so much for your interest in Ali and EDUN. As you can imagine her
schedule is quite hectic. We are trying to keep her interviews to a minimum,
so unfortunately we will not be able to fulfill your request.
Attached is some information on the brand and trade issues for background.
Good luck with your publication.

Sincerely,
Bridget


Bridget Russo
Communications Director
EDUN


To keep with this theme and because somehow I'm still in a good mood, I've decided to post.....BIGGEST REJECTIONS I CAN REMEMBER EXPERIENCING. Perhaps this wil be theraputic and others will follow suit in their blogs or something.

1. Not getting into Penn State main campus on the first try. (I did get in later, but had already decided to go to OU.) This was horrible. HORRIBLE. Kelly Santimauro and I both got the reject letters and we dejectedly drove up to one of the branch campuses to see if we could possibly stand going there for year. Fortunately neither of us had to. She also got into main campus on her second try, and I went to OU.

2. Not getting selected for the Mon Valley Young Woman of the Year finals. I made it to the semi-finals but I think my "live-performance" section was a little shaky. It was a poetry reading. It was a bad poem. I had written it and thought it was awesome. Evidently the judges didn't agree. I was compteting with girls who were married to their dancing and singing careers...my stupid poem about being a young woman was probably pretty bloody boring.

3. Boys. Ah yes...first there was Danny Regrut. We played soccer together. He was this little blonde kid with a bowl cut who I thought was the best thing that ever happened to me. Perhaps 8 is too young to be scouting for boyfriends...but I wanted him BAD. There have been several since then. Broken hearts abound....the most memorable one having happened a few years back. Honestly the two things I remember most about that now are 1. a really good conversation with my mother where she was very nice to me but pretty much told me to suck it up and get on with my life. And 2. when Mae wiped my dripping nose with her bare hand after I'd been crying FOREVER. That was awesome.

4. Jobs. I know everyone thinks I'm the resume queen who gets all the job action, but I definitely have been seriously rejected in this arena as well. Let's see...The national organizations I've been rejected by include: The Red Cross, YMCA, YWCA, Girl Scouts and World Vision. There are many local organizations that most of you would not have heard of. The most recent is the United Mitochondrial Disease Foundation. Being rejected by something no one's ever heard of really sucks. (It was a cool job, though.)

5. I just got rejected for health insurance because I took a perscription for insomnia for two months last year. Yup.

And now...Ali Hewson, who works to save child victims of nuclear disasters and other misfortunes has rejected me. Sniff.

Rejection is almost certainly good for you though. How else do people get tough, right? It would be awesome if nothing bad ever happened. But I guess you couldn't ever build any real character that way. Take Paris Hilton for example. I mean, she's hot and extremely fashionable. But I'm pretty sure any time any little thing went wrong, her daddy could buy something to fix it. She has that air about her that people who haven't really had to solve any problems or deal with any big disappointments have. The vacant eyes. The "I'm cute, I have 38 Louis Vuitton bags for this spring, I eat diamonds for breakfast because they, like, don't have any calories, my bikini waxer has a PhD in bikini waxing and my dog has her own ferarri" smile.

What am I saying here? I guess I'm just pointing out the obvious, which is that rejection is good for you because it makes you less like Paris Hilton.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!