click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:40 p.m. - 2005-03-16
Frosted Lucky Charms...they're magically delicious
Today at work, I overheard this conversation, from my 60ish year old co-worker who was on the phone wiht someone.

"No.....no. You have to just listen to Tupac. I'm telling you. Yes, Tupac. He knows what he's talking about. Trust me, ok?"

As I imagined a woman old enough to be my grandmother bopping around to Keep ya Head up, she finished her conversation and hung up. I went over to her office and said "Umm, did you just suggest that someone listen to Tupac Shakkur?" And she looked at me for a second and said "OH, no did I say Tupac? I mean to say Tukop...Mr. Tukop...he's my husband's financial advisor. Who is Tupac Shakkur?"

Let's just hope the person on the phone doesn't know either.

Also at work today...I spent a fair amount of time in a meeting where we were intently discussing whether we should refer to our Annual Dinner hostess as "Betty" or "The Leprechaun." Betty, the hostess, who is a character actress, will be playing a leprechaun in honor of the dinner being the day after St. Patrick's Day. I personally think the whole thing is going to be awkward....but who am I to rain on the Mon Valley's parade?

And finally, also in "at work today" news, I was on a conference call for most of hte afternoon entitled "Pro-Active Marketing." The speaker actually said the following sentence: "We live in the greatest world ever." I waited about one second, while that registered, and then let out a very loud, rude snort and did that laughing/crying thing that I do, while my boss kept glancing over at me with this puzzled look. I don't think the comment struck anyone else as funny....but I couldn't stop snickering for about ten minutes. I'm not the only one that thinks this is funny, am I? WE LIVE IN THE GREATEST WORLD EVER??? What?!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!