click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:34 a.m. - 2005-03-17
the rejection of a holiday
Happy St. Patricks Day to one and all. This morning I stood in my closet (yes, in...it's large) and surveyed the options. I feel dumb wearing holiday colors on holidays...you know, red on V-day, etc. But I feel sort of like I'm purposely snubbing the holiday and those who embrace it if I don't. It's like there's no happy medium. Either you're going ot come off as over-enthusiastic show choir-esque holiday enthusiast.....jazz hands everyone! Where's YOUR Shamrock?! Or a party pooper of Scrooge proportions. Neither of these suit me. Granted, on the St. Patty's day party day, downtown, I was sporting all sorts of Irishness....I was practically exploding St. Patricks Day cheer....from the green beer I drank to the huge green earrings and the little leprechaun hat that I was told slightly to my dismay actually bleongs to our dog. "Did you ask her if you could wear it?" my mother said pointedly.

But this is different. Today is a work day. I have a meeting with a client. So I shunned the entire situation and wore purple and black. Does that make me lame? Maybe.

So, I'm going to Mexico in June. Cozumel to be more precise. With the Damon's girls. No, they aren't actually FROM Damon's...but we go there on wednesdays for happy hour. The ladies in question, I met through the fabulous J-Di and they are all fabulous in their own lovely ways. Marci, I'm talking to you here. So, basically Mexico is going to be one big bunch of fabulousness. Hmmm. Bathing suit on pasty-white skin. Gross. I need to work on that.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!