click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:16 a.m. - 2005-03-15
Miss Irish Eyes
I like it that Katie Meyer and I often find ourselves in similar situations. There's something sisterly about it.

Well after an entire weekend of getting blown off by almost everyone I know, monday was an evening nice enough to miss the latest installment of 24. Don't worry, I taped it.

I will tell you about saturday, though. Satuday was the St. Patrick's day parade. I saw hide nor hair of any parade-ish movement through the city, but I did see a lot of green beer and boys peeing on or near my shoes and I did have to almost give up rights to my firstborn child to get into a bar with a bathroom. I pulled a Brooke Williams, at one point, conning this dude into letting Kelly and I use the employee bathroom instead of waiting in line for 40 minutes. Seriously. It was that bad. Kelly and I started the day at 10:30am at a house party. Wow, it's been a long long time since I cracked open a can of miller lite before noon. We had some snacks...olives, brie, veggies, and headed to the bus stop around 1pm. "We" being about 10 of us, decked out in various expressions of Irish-ness. We rode the busses and ended up in Market Square. About halfway there, Kelly and I had somehow earned the nicknames Crystal and Cleo, respectively by some guy we'd never met before. In Market Square, who do we run into but...my parents. Nothing like sipping warm beer out of a can while your mother unearths a wineskin full of vodka and orange juice from underneath her big green fluffy coat.

Cheers.

Kelly and I found our way by bus back to where we left the car, having to employ the directional skills and public transportation knowledge of many kind Pittsburghers. Note to all: Fellow PA transit riders who are not drinking or dressed in green are doing you a big favor by being nice to you when you don't know where the hell you are going.

We went back home, got showered and changed and then went out dancing. I definitely had to make a serious effort at finding my second wind. But it was found. And dancing happened. All was right with the world.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!