click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:22 p.m. - 2004-12-21
almost a joke
So I go to Kaufman's to interview for a sales position. Sigh. This story is so depressing, I can barely type it. OK. So I go in, and I wait and I wait. And then someone comes out for me. Of course, "someone" is a really cute guy. Oh dear. So we go back to his office and he looks at my stellar resume and looks at me and looks at my stellar resume and looks at me. And he says "Um. Are you looking for like a corporate position?" And I say "Oh. Do you have one of those?" (charming smile) and he says "No." Awkward pause. Then he says "I mean, you're like insanely overqualified." And I'm like "I know." And then he says "The really bad news is that we don't even have any sales positions left." So I say "Well, what does that leave?" And he says "Um. Inventory. Like, counting stuff."

Oh sweet Jesus in heaven what are you doing to me?

Counting stuff. So then he says "I'm not even sure when those jobs are going ot be available."

OK. They have gigantic "WE ARE HIRING NOW!" signs up all over the freaking store. Do you realize how much it took for me to get dressed today to go to a fucking interview at Kaufman's in the first place??? And then they basically say "Well, maybe you can count some stuff for us."

I proceeded to the closest bar to have a beer and call Bethany, who was not there. Instead Haley met me for lunch and I pouted very professionally for about an hour.

Then I went to Dick's, who also was supposedly hiring. I go in and summon the manager. I say "Are you hiring?" and he says "Not really. I mean, we're accepting applications." So after staring at him for a second I say "What does that mean?" And he says "Well, you never know. But it doesn't look good."

Awesome.

So I go to another store to check out something my dad wanted info on. Then I come home and crumble onto the couch and hate everything about everything for about 6 minutes.

Ring, ring.

It's Keith Wasserman. Offering me a job.

Ah, decisions, decisions.

Now what???

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!