click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:12 p.m. - 2004-12-19
Jill Job
Hey, guess who is looking for a job? Guess who is looking for a job in Pittsburgh? Hey, does anyone want to move here? Everything is cheap and people are friendly.

I have been doing lots of midwestern things like watching football, Go Steelers! I ate lobster last night. Ah, middle class unemployment.

Today I went to the mall to see about a job at a department store, you know, just to make a few extra bucks for the remainder of the holiday season, and to pass the time. Um, yeah. A FEW bucks. If I get hired, I will be making one third of what I made at my last job, on an hourly basis. Ah...humility is good for us, yes?

If nothing else, there will be so many fabulous stories of panicked last minute Christmas shoppers freaking out at my checkout line. I have this book called The Fabulous Girl's Guide to Decorum, and in it, the authors refer to such employment opportunities as Jill Jobs. They say you should have these jobs only when absolutely necessary, and when you do, you should wear fabulous clothes and pretend your job is really important. The Jessi addition to that is that you also must ensure that there is at least one blog worthy story that commences each day.

So, looking for jobs is kind of fun. The whole being unemployed thing is starting to wear on me, but I'm serious, I like looking for jobs. It's fun to envision yourself in the jobs that look interesting. Especially when you're browsing and you see something like "Head Hockey Coach" and you think to yourself, I wonder if, just for fun, i could convince someone that I could do that job. Or when you see stuff that is listed as "Senior Safety Coordinator." I just picture myself strolling around a campus of some sort with a big sign that says "SLOW" and a whistle in my mouth, ready to blow it at someone who might be running on a slippery surface.

And hey, quit F-ing corrrecting my writing, People. My improper use of cliche is endearing. Isn't it?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!