click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:08 p.m. - 2004-10-08
welcome home
Last night, I went to an Irish pub with Lindsey and some of her friends from high school. It had been a while since I'd been in a bar in a college town. I'd forgotten about bad cover bands and girls teetering around like giraffes on high heels they are not yet accustomed to. Once Karen Towne said she heard a sorority girl lament how going out drinking was making her gain weight, but how if she stopped going out drinking every night, she would be less and less likely to meet "the man of her dreams." She then put her hands out like scales wieghing the issue and tilted to one side and said "Calories on my body" and then tilted to the other side and said "Never meet the man of my dreams."

What?

Anyway it was a nice outing, overall and I was reminded of how fun it is to meet new people, who are friends of friends. In general, most of the people I am friends with can be counted on to have other interesting cool people as friends. I love it when you have heard about someone for so long from a friend of yours, and then you finally meet them and you're like "Oooh, where have YOU been all my life?" Such was the case with Jen Baird, Paul Martin, Dave Brown and Catherine Loya. In particular, I will say that Katie Meyer does seem to draw, like a magnet, some of the most solidly interesting people to her. Any friend of Katie's is a friend of mine. We both have excellent taste.

I am going to Athens today. Yay. I will see several people with the last name Cooke, Good Works, Donkey, Casa, Rob Rennich, some Schlagbaums and one, possibly two Phillip Yaks. That's Fillipiak, to you, buster.

Toodles. Oh, and Cat: my grandma used to call them "tootsies" too. But only if it involved them being cold. I miss mine too. My Grandma, not my tooties. My tootsies are all accounted for within the confines of my socks, however, my grandma has left us in order to drive a red convertible around in the presence of the Lord. Zoom zoom.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!