click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:19 p.m. - 2004-09-30
dead puppies
OK.

The iPod is named Shifty Powers. Though Captain Monkeypants was a close second.

I gave my printer to the Michele/Renea/Trelaou/Mike/Lotski-dog and yes I know it's spelled wrong but I like it better that way-household. Sorry Brooke, I can't take it to Kurt's house.

Mt. St. Helen's is going to errupt. Please be careful and don't go hiking, which is boring anyway. Just kidding. Sort of.

24 hours to go...I wanna be sedated. Actually, I don't. I am looking forward to this train ride. Mike says I will meet lots of interesting people in the lounge/bar car. Well, where else did you think I would be?

The man at the post office is weird. I always get the same guy. He calls me "My Good Woman." Ew. Today, while Jenny and I were waiting in line with my pile of boxes, he came out, to open another cashier station or whatever they're called, and he was sort of primping, like he was alone in a bathroom. He put on his tie, fixed his collar....it made me feel like I was watching something private. Then, of course I was in his line. He always really pushes the "cash back" thing. He says stuff like "Come on, we're practically giving the stuff away." I'm like, dude, this isn't the bank. Just put my boxes on the cart and give me my receipt. And then he goes on with this Good Woman business, not in a sleazy way, but in an equally creepy colonial, new england accent kind of way. Oh well. That's the last I'll be seeing of him for a while.

If you stare at the U.S. Postal Service logo long enough, it starts to look like a couch instead of a flying eagle with a very determined, noble facial expression.

Remember those posters that you had to cross your eyes to see the hidden image? Yeah, that was dumb. I have this terrible feeling someone is going to show one to me excitedly and kind of jump around while they wait for me to figure out how to cross my eyes to see it properly as if this didn't happen to everyone fifty time in college. I mean, the whole thing is like a nice idea or whatever...but here's how it goes...

Oh, is that one of those eye cross poster thingies.

Yeah, it's so cool. Can you see the Jesus/Cross/people having sex/hemp plant/hand flipping the bird?

No, oh wait, yeah. There is it. That's um.....Neat.

Yeah. So....

I hate converations like that. Especially when you have to have them more than once.

Katie and I were talking the other day about words or phrases we over-use. I think it is important to take inventory of this from time to time. My big one is that when someone says something that they expect some sort of acknowledgement or response to, I always say "That make sense." I know when I start saying that, I'm mentally exiting the conversation. What I really mean by it is "I have no idea what else to say but I think you want me to say something. Can we talk about something else now?" Or more honestly: "This is boring." OK, there I said it. I confessed it. Part of the reason I am doing this, confessing, that is (to people I have almost certainly said that to) is because I don't like it when I do that. I should be more engaged, and trying harder to find the real value in what the person is saying. And even if I can't, I've got to get some new material.

My iPod now has over 700 songs on it, including Vertigo. Yee-haw! It is approximately 2 full 24 hour days worth of music. Isn't that awesome?! Special thanks to Collin for sending it to me and Ben Cape for putting music on it.

Collin also sent me a mystery package today that I am not allowed to open until I am on the train and leaving Seattle. I have no idea what it could be. I don't think it's a puppy.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!