click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:54 a.m. - 2004-05-14
seattle is for singles
Well, according to MSN.com which I might add has the stupidest articles with the least amount of journalistic integrity on the internet...well, that's probably n ttrue...but it's the most reliable LOOKING, with the least reliable news. Yes, that's what I mean. Anyway, according to them, Seattle and Ann Arbor Michigan both rank in the top ten cities in the US for "dating." Interesting, considering that myself (a seattlite) and my significant other (a near Ann Arbor dweller) find ourselves in a long distance relationship, spanning 7 large and wide states, and neither of us have had a relationship is our respective cities. Here is what they have to say about Sea-town, as Sir Mix-a-Lot calls it:

Seattle, WA: No surprise here�Seattle has the largest number of coffee shops (great places for meeting people or gathering to rehash the previous night's activities). It also has the highest percentage of online daters.

OK, first of all, WHO MEETS IN A COFFEE SHOP??? You know me, I talk to EVERYONE...but I never meet people in coffee shops. Everyone is either already talking to the friend they came with, or they are glued to their lap tops and/or cell phones and hooked up intraveneously to their triple tall 2% sugar-free vanilla lattes. Or they are reading The Stranger. Do you ever look over someone shoulder when they're reading the Stranger? I do, to see if they're looking at the raunchy "alternative" personals. I mean who uses those?! People seem to be willing to pay good money to put their ads in there....I want to know who these people are who spread open the weekly publication with the intention to find a "date" for that night or whatever you call it when you respond to a personal ad in the hopes of having some very specific kind of unusual sex with someone you've never met before. I want to interview such a person for my web log. Just picture...no, don't. ANyway, you can't meet people in coffee shops in Seattle....except for maybe the baristas and even that takes forever....countless visits....for them to learn your name, your drink...and having a conversation beyond

What can I get you today?"

"Double tall Americano with room." "That will be 2.25"

"Here you go"

"Thanks...Your change is 2.75"

"Thanks." (plink plink plink...three quarters in the tip jar)

"thanks"

smile.

Here's your double tall Americano with room.

"thanks"

"Have a good day."

"You too."

"Thanks."

"Bye."

"Bye."

This happens every day. Every day. The same conversation. It takes some real thinking to venture beyond that, considering there are people in line behind you and you don't want to get into a real info-exchanging conversation, because it will be awkwardly cut off, because the peson behind you gets pissy.....it takes a serendipitous moment when you wander in and the place is empty, and the baristas look relieved to see you, as though they were just considering the possibility that the rapture had taken place, taking all of the coffee consumers up to coffee heaven. It is in those moments friendships are built.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!