click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:18 p.m. - 2009-06-28
-
This is so weird. And kind of embarrassing.

So I went to high school with this kid who has a very unusual name. His first name is actually the brand name of a product. It would be like if his first name was "Ford" or "Chevy" and he has a run-of-the-mill last name like Schwartz, Schmidt, along those lines...I don't want to put in on here for Google purposes....anyway...we friended each other on facebook. I guess I friended him. Probably a year or more ago.

I haven't "talked" to him on facebook, ever. He was just hanging out there as my "friend."

Today I saw that he posted this whole crazy thing about how his wife left him for this younger guy that they both worked with at some like nerd-fest type place like a war re-enactment place or a renaissance fair or something - I thought, my goodness. How personal and weird to post on here that your wife is leaving you...

But I felt really bad for him and just felt concerned that he might not have a lot of real friends....so I dropped him this little note just saying how sorry I was and how I thought he was so nice in high school, etc. He really was a nice, nice guy. I setn it and was poking around his profile, trying to see if I knew the girl he was married to...thinking she may have also gone to our high school...so I clicked on his "photos" section.

And I expected to see photos of him and maybe some people from high school...but I didn't recognise anyone in the pictures. And there seemed to be a lot of pictures of this other guy who was NOT him.

I clicked on his profile and saw that he is from Pittsburgh and went to IUP - which sounds like where this guy I went to high school with might have gone to...but it is totally not him. He went to a different high school and is younger than me by a few years.

Oh my goodness.

I am feeling soooo weird about this!!! If I hadn't said anything about high school in my note, he probably would just think I'm some nice person who is a friend of a friend, but it is so obvious now that I don't actually know him. And this poor guy is going through this major crisis!!! I was just trying to be nice!!!!!!!!!!!

Crap like this happens to me all the time. This is why letters are better. If all the correspondance we had was letters, this would never happen. I shake my fist at you, Internet!!!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!