click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:39 a.m. - 2009-06-17
tales from school
Cute stories of kids at camp...

So yesterday I go into the Group 2 classroom (grades 3-6) and this little guy, a new kid says to me "When is Ms. Mon-i-cue coming back?" I say "Umm, what?" He says "Ms. Mon-i-cue. Where is she?" I say "Ummm, do you mean Ms. Monique?" He shrugs and smiles, realizing he is saying it wrong. Ah, phonetics.

Earlier yesterday, during breakfast, I was standing near the line of Group 1 (K-2nd grade) kids. Eli*, a little boy who has a very difficult time sitting still, following directions, etc. and is CONSTANTLY getting time outs or having meltdowns was standing there - he was all jumpy and hyper as usual. I looked at him and I said "Eli. Are we going to have a good summer of following directions and good behavior?" He looked at me, put his finger to his lips like "hmmm." Then he just got this big smile and threw both arms around me in a huge hug and said "I love you Ms. Jessi."

Well, I can respect a man who doesn't make promises he can't keep and rather, focuses on the positive. I think politics may be in little Eli's future...

Names have been changed to protect the innocent.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!