click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:59 a.m. - 2009-05-27
summer time, and the living is easy
Memorial Day Weekend was a really good one. I can't believe how much we got done around the house - Kevin and Uncle Tim built new steps off the back deck and Kevin decided it was an urgent matter to cut down and dig up a shrub that has been in the front yard for many years. Also, Genevieve started the mural in the baby's room.

We also got to socialize a fair amount. Picnics and cookouts and such. When Memorial day comes around, that old feeling from school days comes back that you're "almost done" and summer is nearly here. I am fortunate, to a degree, to have a schedule change at work during the summer - although that change involves getting up earlier - boo. But summer day camp is a different feel than the after school program. It's busier and more chaotic because there are SO MANY kids. I am so excited that we are 90% full for camp. When I started my job, I was told one of my biggest challenges would be to get the camp up to full enrollment because of the public schools offering day camps. We were told there would be so much competition, it would be impossible to fill up, since we charge tuition and the school camps are free. I just deciced, three summers ago, that we woudl figure out how to make our camp BETTER, and worth the money. The first year, we did have trouble getting our numbers up - a free summer camp right down the street is quite a draw. But once word got around about our program...the local school's program has all but shut down at this point. I have not advertised the camp once this year - it's all through word of mouth, and I think, right now, 2 weeks before we start, we have 2 or 3 spots left, if that. That is an accomplishment I haven't relfected on much but it's a significant one.

So, summer camp is a lot of work, but it is a nice change of pace, once I get used to being at work at 8:30 again...I have really been enjoying my sleep these days...pregnancy definitely takes it out of me. So it might be even more challenging to get back on that schedule this year.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!