click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:57 a.m. - 2009-04-26
Golden Girls, awards and dirty pigs

Swine Flu is the new SARS.

Bea Arthur died - may she rest in Golden Peace.

The baby's room is coming along. Thanks to my dad and my husband, the walls are no longer a nausea-inducing salmon. Hello Yorkshire Pudding yellow. Afternoon Tea brown is comin' at ya, trim. Painting is so much more involved than people act like it is. Maybe if you live in an empty house with perfectly shaped walls, it's a piece of cake, but in this house, we have a lot of, shall we say, obstacles. This is my first experience decorating - I might be terrible at this. Probably not though. :)

I am almost 30 weeks pregnant. I find this to be kind of ridiculous, because that means I am going to have a baby in less like 10 weeks. That can't be true.

We had our employee appreciation dinner on Friday. My staff cleaned up on awards although I didn't win any. I was nominated for Living the Mission - about 5 of us got called up to the stage to receive a pin that said "above and beyond!" with a swooshy star..haha. Awesome. But the the entire Supportive Outreach Team staff won the award. They totally deserve it, because they probably have the hardest job in the agency - they make rounds several times a week to known dwellings of non-sheltered homeless people - they visit the encampments and make sure they aren't dead and bring them food and supplies - there are also a couple nurses on the team who provide limited care. So, they are basically awesome. My newest hire won Rookie of the Year and my right hand man, Matt, won Most Valuable Player. So, it's all in the family, and that's satisfying. Hey, I hired them. :) There was one other award, which my supervisor, the Director of Operations, won - just confirmation that I work for and with wonderful people. It will be hard to leave this job when the time comes...which may be sooner than later - more on that at another time.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!