click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:26 p.m. - 2009-04-16
this and that
I am in the third trimester. Feeling good. People say I look good - I'm sure they are just being nice, but I will take it!

I keep waiting to feel...yucky or really tired or something. But so far, so good.

We did our taxes and for the first time ever, owed. Grrrrr. Something having to do with Kevin's contracting job that he had for the first half of last year not taking enough out. We really got screwed with the timing of his job - he missed out on a bonus by literally days - you had to be employed there for 6 months to get the annual bonus and he was there for like 5 months and 3 weeks....ugh! So, we just sucked our savings out and sent it to the government so they can bail out another dumb financial institution. Awesome. What a total bummer - I had big plans for that tax return....oh well. No Wii Fit for my b-day. Will have to get in shape after the baby comes the old fashioned way - pushing a stroller around the block. Although I am currently taking prenatal yoga. :)

Our hot water heater is broken. Kevin thinks he can fix it....but we are on day 2 and still no shower for me. I am working from home today because I just could not face the freezing liquid ice coming out of the faucet. If this does not get fixed tonight we are going to have a serious problem tomorrow.

I just found out a good friend's wedding is the same day as my baby shower. They are pretty much at the same time, too. I feel really bad I won't get to see her walk down the aisle and she feels terrible to miss the baby shower - June kind of sucks like that. :(

I went to this event yesterday and this speaker, who is a prominent figure in the nonprofit community was supposed to speak for 20 minutes and he went on for well over an hour - there was another guy speaking after him, but once he finally ended his talk, almost everyone got up out of their seats and walked out (self included...the room was really hot and the chair was really uncomfortable and I felt like I might pass out) and it was extremely embarrassing. I felt terrible, but I just could not stay in there another moment.

I am very upset about what happened on 24 on Monday.

Thanks to Amy, I have discovered that Chic-fil-a is a magical place. Seriously. It is the Ritz Carlton of fast food places in terms of customer service. And the food is very delicious, too - I recommend the Southwestern chicken salad.

Someone gave us a bunch of baby stuff they are done with and I am THRILLED! We got a swing and a bouncy seat and an infant car seat - how great is that???

If you are pregnant, please read The Zygote Chronicals - it is a wonderful book and that has recently been confirmed by others.

I made an Iraqi war veteran cry on Tuesday because of a totally unintentional insensitive comment I made (not about the war.) This was a horrible, horrible moment and I will probably feel bad about it forever. Yuck.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!