click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:05 p.m. - 2009-02-22
oscars 2009
Blogging the Oscars

I can't promise how long I'll stick with this...the Big Love is on tonight and that is my favorite. Then again, that is what Tivo is for...we'll see.

8:08pm I have only caught a few red carpet glimpses...Angelina, Brad, Diane Lane, (love her!) SJP, and so far Amy Adams is the best. Cute red dress, very interesting, huge greenish necklace. SJP has on a silver, sparkly dress that kind of has a long tutu bottom - I loved that tutu from SATC - maybe a subtle nod to that?

8:09pm Whoa - the designer, Valentino, went a little crazy with the pray tan. Yow.

8:12 The cast of Slumdog Millionaire is so great. That young kid who is the star is just so poised and humble. I love him.

8:13 I love Robert Downey Jr. He and his wife seem normal and nice and appropriately weirded out by all the hoopla.

8:15 Viola Davis' has a beeeeauuutiful dress. I like that! Goldish and a great, flattering design.

8:16 Miley Cyrus is crazy and looks effing ridiculous. She is like this uneducated, immature hick! Ew. I just don't see the appeal.

8:17 Ann Hathaway is, on th eother hand so poised and smart. Great mermaid-ish silver dress. Sparkly! Great hair and earrings, too!

8:20 Meryl Streep looks amazing. Although the grey dress is a cool shape, the fabric is really boring. Her daugter looks a little bit like a hooker, though.

8:21 Penelope Cruz is wearing, basically a vintage bridal gown. It's a litle weird. It's not doing much for her boobies.

8:22 This woman who is doing the interviews along with Tim Gunn is a little strange.

8:23 Jack Black is awkward and funny and his wife looks like someone I'd hang out with.

8:24 Marisa Tomai has a really neat-o silverish greyish number with a really interesting pleated zig zag thing going on.

8:31 Hugh Jackman is yummy. I prefer the scruffy Wolverine look, but damn, he looks good in a tux!

8:35 Wow! He's really dancing. He is doing this funny medley of songs about the nominated movies. So far, his dancing is really impressive. He pulls Anne Hathaway up for a little song - it's cute. She's cute.

I have to tell you, I get extremely nervous about live television. I am pretty much always pulling for whoever is talking, even if I don't like them. I hate being embarrassed even though I love to blog about it and I have this extreme empathy about public humiliation. I worry about wardrobe malfunctions and accidental swears and rambling and tripping and technical difficulties. Argh! So stressful!

Hugh Jackman should have his own show. Like a late night show or something. He's good.

8:43 OOh, all these ladies appear - Angelica Huston - LOVE her, Goldie Hawn, Tilda Swinton, Whoopie GOldberg and some old lady I have never seen before - and Kevin doesn't recognise - which is saying a lot. This is a really nice tribute to the nominated best actresses or supporting actresses? I missed it - quite drawn out hough. Whoopie's dress is a little wild - leopard print and the sunglasses look odd. But she's great. Goldie Hawn has nice boobs for being like 60 or whatever. She has that armpit fat thing happening though - you gotta cover that shit! (Believe me, I know!) Tilda Swinton looks like an alien, as always. But a cool alien.

Penelope Cruz wins! In her bridal gown from 1930 or whatever. She asks if anyone has evr fainted. She is cute and happy and sweet. She is appropriately grateful without being dramatic. That's nice. She dedicates it to her parents, brother, a dead friend and everyone "who has helpd her from the beginning." I like that. She goes on for kind of a long time though in Spanish after that, though. Ok, lady, we have lots to get through tonight.

There is a Hyundai commercial with this odd synthesizer sound that, at first, makes me think one of that cats is yakking behind the couch. I mean, literally, I got up and looked behind the couch and it was another few seconds before I realized it was coming from the speakers back there.

8:53 Tina Fey and Steve Martin are hilarious. And Tina is a hot mama in that silver busty number. Woot! Her dress is my new favorite for the night. Cute earrings too.

8:57 Milk wins for best original screenplay. He is gay and he is relaly vulnerable about what the screenplay meant to him. It's touching. He also "promises" gays and lesbians equal rights "very soon". Hmm, wow. I mean, I totally hope he's right - but, like, how can he promise that...

9:00 More screenplay stuff...Brad Pitt is painfully attractive. Like, it almost hurts...sigh. Slumdog Millionaire wins. I haven't seen that movie because everyone says it's a downer, and I tend to stay away from those movies. BUT. I am in love with the story of the movie...the actual actors, that it wasn't full of famous actors, etc. etc.

9:03 Jennifer Aniston and Jack Black. After Tina Fey, Jennifer, in her strapless silver/champagne dress, looks like she's built like a boy. Tina is curvy! But Jennifer is still lovely. WHY do they ALWAYS cut to Angelina when Jennifer is up there. It's just mean. Let it go!

For those fashionistas out there: Silver/grey is the color of the night. So far, I've seen at least 5 silver/grey dresses on prominent stars.

9:07 Wall-E wins for animation.

9:11 Some asian guy wins for a wee little animated movie called Le Maison De Petit Cubes and he doesn't speak much English. So he gets up and he says "Sank yeh, my company. Sank yeh, my parent..." and a few other things like that and then he says "Do mo aragato, Mr. Roboto." I look at Kevin, who reminds me of the Styx song. Hahahaha.

9:16 SJP and Daniel Craig. She is not looking so hot as she ages. I'm not sure why, but she seems to be going straight from a young looking 30 something to an old looking 40 something. I mean, when she was 40, she looked 30, but now that she's 45ish, she's looking her age, for sure. And she would do well to start dressing more her age so she could be classy 40s instead of 40s trying to be 20s. Argh! The tutu is a little crazy. And her dress is barely barely covering her nips. I keep waiting for them to make an appearance. Ack! Stay down, nips!

I would like to point out that Angelina looks amazing in that hat she wears in Changling - and I could absolutely NEVER wear such a hat. Ever.

9:18 Benjamin Button wins for art direction.

I notice that the supermodel handing out the statues and guiding people around is also wearing a silverish dress.

9:25 more art/costume awards...blah..

9:26 The oldest daughter from Big Love who is also in Mama Mia and the dude from Twilight are up there. They both look nice. If I was 15, I would be in LOVE with him. I missed what this award is for. There is a long montage of this year's movies set to a Cold Play song. Cold Play is (are)annoying, is it (are they) not? There is not award. Just a montage. Ok.

9:27 Beyonce is in everything. She does a song from Grease (why???) with Hugh Jackman. Oh, now it's going into All That Jazz. I guess it's like to prepare for best musical or something.

9:35 They do the thing with the previous winners for men introducing the nominees for best actor. Cuba Gooding Jr., Christopher Walkin, Kevin Kline and two other people present...and, Heath Ledger, of course. His parents and sister accept. This must be incredibly difficult for them. It's just sad and really heavy. His sister is lovely and his whole family seems very nice. His mother says that they choose to be happy and celebrate this evening. His sister accepts the award on behalf of his daughter. Very classy, all around. Way to be, Ledger family.

1:43 Bill Maher is talking about some movie. My husband really dislikes him. I am indifferent, leaning toward amused.

9:48 The lady who did Smile Pinki wins. I'm happy about that. It's about a girl who has a cleft palate and she gets surgery, etc. Seems like a story of hope.

9:49 I eat some Oreo ice cream. Yum. Kevin has some pastry thing.

9:54 Special effects montage

9:56 Will Smith. Looking fine, except, well, his earrings are too large. Last year someone had large earrings - Daniel Day Lewis! Large hoops, they made him look like he had been in drag thnight before and forget to take his earrings out. The Will Smith earrings aren't so bad - they are large diamond studs. But I think they are a bit much. Will Smith should know he doesn't have to prove anything. Benjamin Button wins.

9:57 I miss who wins for Sound Editing. Sorry, I know you were on the edge of your seats for that one.

10:00 Hmm, there is another supermodel up there now...also wearing a silverish dress. I wonder what happened to the other one. Maybe she got tired of walking from the podium to the wings and back. Or maybe she got tired to guiding confused movie stars to the correct side. Or maybe her feet hurt. Or maybe she's busy making out with Hugh Jackman.

10:02 A really cute, sweet Indian man wins for Sound Mixing for Slumdog Millionaire. He is appropriately overwhelmed.

10:06 They were smart to have WIll Smith introduce all of these smaller, (sorry but) boring categories. He is keeping me awake. Film Editing Oscar goes to the Slumdog Milionaire people. Some dude who looks like Moby accepts.

10:15 Eddie Murphy presents the Jean Hersholt (who?) award which is being given to Jerry Lewis. It is pretty crazy and awesome that he has been doing that telethon for over 40 years. It would be nice if he could figure out how to do it without sating so much. That always grossed me out when I was little. Ooh, he's there. Looks good and not sweating at all. Good job.

10:28 Alisha Keyes! LOVE her. She and that guy from High School Musical or something prsent Best Original Score - Slumdog Millionaire. Another cute, humble Indian man. He is making some awkward jokes. It's cute.

10:34 The man who accepted the original score award is now singing and a bunch of beautiful Indian women are dancing. I want to wear those Indian outfits. Maybe not the ones that show your belly, though. John Legend sings another song, also with the dancing Indian girls. He sounds a wee bit...off. Like he can't hear himself. That is a really awful thing when that happens. The winner for best original song is...Slumdog Millionaire again. Same dude from before. Everyone is very happy.

10:45 I missed the foreign language film award situation but I can tell you that people from Japan won.

10:54 Queen Latifah looks great, great, great. Did you knwo she will be 40 next year?? Crazy! Pretty royal blue and black dress. I don't really get the blck sash thing that goes across the front...it seems unneccessary. But the color is great on her and it's a flattering fit. Her skin is glowing as always. And she is singing and doing a fine job - I actually forget that she sings...I thought of her as a rapper/hip hop artist for a long time(she actually started out beat boxing) and now I think of her as a (mediocre) actress and general personality/spokesperson and positive role model. So, is she in or out of the closet or is it just a rumor that she is gay or what? Regardless of which way she swings, girl looks GOOD and can still sing.

11:09 Reese Witherspoon presents best director. Danny Boyle - Slumdog Millionaire wins. His is really wired - very excited! Aw, his family is all crying. He takes a moment to apologize to a choreographer whose name was accidentally left off the credit. That was really nice.

11:18 We are now eating pretzels. I think our house may collectively have a tape worm. The cats have been eating like little piggies, too.

11:26 A bunch of leading ladies present...supporting actress? Wait, maybe this is best actress and that first one was best supporting? I guess so. Shirley McClain, that girl who won last year or the year before, Halle Berry who is looking great and wearing an amazing dress, of course year, Sophia Lauren who looks a fine mess - I mean, my heavens. Horrific dress that looks like it came from K-Mart's prom section, bad spray tan, terrible, terrible hair. Oh dear. She is introducing Meryl Streep, who is the picture of grace. Nicole Kidman - hmm, I'm torn on her look. Sparkly silver/whiteish. Kate Winslet wins. Oh dear. I mean - good! But she was soooo weepy at the Golden Globes it was embarrassing. She has it together now, so it's ok, I think. Oh, btw, her dress silver/grey. Her husband is like really old but seems so nice and totally in awe of her. She pauses when she thanks her parents and she says "Dad, whistle or something so I can see you" and withouta second's hesitation, her dad lets out this LOUD whistle. I laugh out loud at this and it really touches me. Her dad looks like a crazy cowboy (which is odd because I assume he is British) and that makes me happy.

11:32 Best Actors. Presenting are Robert Deniro, Michael Douglas, Anthony Hopkins, Adrien Brody, Ben Kingsley. Can I just say that next to all of these fine gentlemen, Mickey Rourke is downright frightening. I mean, frightening in that don't allow yourself to be alone in a room with him, frightening. Sean Penn wins! That's good. I was kind of pulling for Brad, myself but I can dig this.

Okay, I know this is annoying, but I am absolutely certain that Slumdog Millionaire is going to win and I just cannot wait any longer. I'm tired and I'm going to bed bed bed.

Nighty night!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!